Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Unlock DX10 on windows XP

Discuss topics unrelated to CRYENGINE.


 

User avatar
sierra1
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 156
Member since: 19.05.2007, 11:07
Location: Buried 1.5m under ground
Likes: 0

Unlock DX10 on windows XP

Postby sierra1 » 04.11.2007, 22:55

I dont know if you guys already know this but i found some tweeked cgf files that enables directx 10 effects for crysis on windows xp.

Here are the links to tweeked files:

From Rapidshare: http://rapidshare.com/files/65472180/Crysis_Pack_High_to_VeryHigh__NoFrag_.zip.html
From Megaupload: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=PPVQWWZ3


I tested both files and there is no virus or keylogger or any of this ???? detected.

Enjoy
olileauk
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 116
Member since: 01.11.2007, 12:12
Location: The UK
Likes: 0

Postby olileauk » 04.11.2007, 23:10

The key thing to note here is that it's not DX10. It's some of the features of DX10 that DX9 has the ability to do.

Not the entirety of DX10.
Image
Spreading the Companion Cube love!
Torque86
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 167
Member since: 10.01.2006, 22:49
Location: Edmonton(Wetaskiwin),Canada
Likes: 0

Postby Torque86 » 04.11.2007, 23:44

Better than Crash-a-lot vista
Avatar unavailable due to it not getting uploaded!
Jasper
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1410
Member since: 30.10.2007, 00:30
Location: Blaricum @ The Netherlands
Likes: 0

Postby Jasper » 04.11.2007, 23:58

Originally posted by olileauk
The key thing to note here is that it's not DX10. It's some of the features of DX10 that DX9 has the ability to do.

Not the entirety of DX10.


Exactly, you can't run DX10 on xp and/or on a DX9 card.
So it just unlocks the vista features ont the DX10 features
[url=r0flz.com/stat.php]Image[/url]
[url=r0flz.com/gen]Image[/url]
[url=r0flz.com]Image[/url]
Image
olileauk
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 116
Member since: 01.11.2007, 12:12
Location: The UK
Likes: 0

Postby olileauk » 05.11.2007, 00:41

Originally posted by Torque86
Better than Crash-a-lot vista


i disagree. I've run Vista for over a year and a half (yes, that's right) and never once have i had a problem. ever.

Most people have also gotten off the "Vista suxx" bandwagon having used it for a week, realising the media is in fact wrong.
Image
Spreading the Companion Cube love!
NBtX
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 886
Member since: 27.10.2007, 03:22
Location: Ontario, Canada
Likes: 0

Postby NBtX » 05.11.2007, 00:49

Originally posted by olileauk
Originally posted by Torque86
Better than Crash-a-lot vista


i disagree. I've run Vista for over a year and a half (yes, that's right) and never once have i had a problem. ever.

Most people have also gotten off the "Vista suxx" bandwagon having used it for a week, realising the media is in fact wrong.


RTM came out in December... so you're saying you ran the beta and RC's fine without a problem?! LOL maybe if you didn't try to do anything at all....And, I used to use vista as my main os for a long time, then booted into xp cause something wouldn't work properly on vista, and never went back. But...I wont continue on the xp/vista debate cause im happy in xp, and some people are happy in vista...i just know from my experience vista is **** and is not the next OS for me.
Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 - AMD Phenom II 965 - 8GB DDR3 - BFG GTX295
Jasper
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1410
Member since: 30.10.2007, 00:30
Location: Blaricum @ The Netherlands
Likes: 0

Postby Jasper » 05.11.2007, 00:54

I was a vista hater too but its actually pretty good.
They fixed a lot lately and all my programs (lot of them are old ones) run perfectly fine.
You just need to know how to tweak things and stuff, and if you know how then vista is a perfect os.
[url=r0flz.com/stat.php]Image[/url]
[url=r0flz.com/gen]Image[/url]
[url=r0flz.com]Image[/url]
Image
User avatar
Vinci
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 115
Member since: 04.11.2007, 17:55
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Likes: 0

Postby Vinci » 05.11.2007, 01:41

i use vista 64bit.

and untill i changed to this from XP i never knew just how good my games could be...

STALKER looks twice as good as it ever did in XP and so far ive come across a couple of issues, but they have been overcome... well except, i cant get Hitman Blood Money to run, but seriously its not a huge deal, ill just play STALKER, Bioshock, Company Of Heroes or the Crysis demo :).
i remember refusing to install XP as it was "**** with games" and "highly unstable" and now the same is being said of Vista, its a new OS and is gonna have probs untill at least the first service pack comes out but XP was worse and was only fixed and made good by SP2....

oh and it looks good too.... :))
"He Aint Heavy, He's My Brother........And The Very Expensive NanoSuit Helps Too"
olileauk
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 116
Member since: 01.11.2007, 12:12
Location: The UK
Likes: 0

Postby olileauk » 05.11.2007, 02:06

Originally posted by NBtX
Originally posted by olileauk
Originally posted by Torque86
Better than Crash-a-lot vista


i disagree. I've run Vista for over a year and a half (yes, that's right) and never once have i had a problem. ever.

Most people have also gotten off the "Vista suxx" bandwagon having used it for a week, realising the media is in fact wrong.


RTM came out in December... so you're saying you ran the beta and RC's fine without a problem?! LOL maybe if you didn't try to do anything at all....And, I used to use vista as my main os for a long time, then booted into xp cause something wouldn't work properly on vista, and never went back. But...I wont continue on the xp/vista debate cause im happy in xp, and some people are happy in vista...i just know from my experience vista is **** and is not the next OS for me.

yes. All i ever had problems with, ever, were drivers for my wireless card from pre-beta 2 to beta 2 mid build, when it was fixed. If you try and blame Microsoft for this, you are sorely mistaken.

I dual booted Vista and XP for a long time, but as soon as I could use the 'net on Vista, i got rid of XP and have never looked back. :)

You're right, of course. It's all down to personal opinion. but basing your opinion on something you thought even 6 months ago is a very silly idea indeed. The problem was, manufacturers were being slack. now Vista has been out nearly 3/4s of a year, initial teething problems have gone away. I mean, i never had any issues in the first place, maybe through blind luck, but a lot of people I know have used Vista and begrudgingly admitted that they were in fact wrong and the media/their first impressions all those months ago are now totally baseless and they would be wrong if they continued to think that way.
Image
Spreading the Companion Cube love!
Jasper
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1410
Member since: 30.10.2007, 00:30
Location: Blaricum @ The Netherlands
Likes: 0

Postby Jasper » 05.11.2007, 07:44

Originally posted by Vinci
i use vista 64bit.

and untill i changed to this from XP i never knew just how good my games could be...

STALKER looks twice as good as it ever did in XP and so far ive come across a couple of issues, but they have been overcome... well except, i cant get Hitman Blood Money to run, but seriously its not a huge deal, ill just play STALKER, Bioshock, Company Of Heroes or the Crysis demo :).
i remember refusing to install XP as it was "**** with games" and "highly unstable" and now the same is being said of Vista, its a new OS and is gonna have probs untill at least the first service pack comes out but XP was worse and was only fixed and made good by SP2....

oh and it looks good too.... :))

64bit doesn't really help me on a single core i think :P
[url=r0flz.com/stat.php]Image[/url]
[url=r0flz.com/gen]Image[/url]
[url=r0flz.com]Image[/url]
Image
User avatar
Hellerzin
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 529
Member since: 29.10.2007, 21:52
Likes: 0

Postby Hellerzin » 05.11.2007, 16:21

um, why not install both os?
Since everyone only posts their future rig here, mine is:
3x 200b,16gb ddr5, 5TB HD,c2x@5.0,liquid nitrogen cooler,44'' LCD monitor,15 air coolers,unique-made titanium tower,acoustic dampening system
User avatar
Vinci
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 115
Member since: 04.11.2007, 17:55
Location: Glasgow, Scotland
Likes: 0

Postby Vinci » 05.11.2007, 18:59

Touche!...

but!!

a single core aint gonna help for Crysis and thats what were all here for so when you upgrade ebentually its gonna be good for Crysis and Vista. :))
"He Aint Heavy, He's My Brother........And The Very Expensive NanoSuit Helps Too"
NBtX
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 886
Member since: 27.10.2007, 03:22
Location: Ontario, Canada
Likes: 0

Postby NBtX » 05.11.2007, 19:08

I used to, but the new bcd boot loader causes way too many problems on a XP/linux/vista boot....so i'll just stick with XP ;)
Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 - AMD Phenom II 965 - 8GB DDR3 - BFG GTX295
User avatar
Goku1983d
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 39
Member since: 03.04.2007, 05:37
Location: Canada
Likes: 0

Postby Goku1983d » 05.11.2007, 19:40

The difference bettween playing Crysis on single core VS dual core is not even funny.I've played it on both Single core and dual core. on single core crysis uses just about all the CPU's Resources.90%+....now On my x2 it I've noticed it uses 35% when theres a ton of action.and thats with fraps running and all the settings Cranked to max.and I've seen it as low a 8% just walking around in the demo .Ram and a powerful gpu is the determining factor in running Crysis well.as it always uses a ton of RAM regardless of whats going on..... as in regards of vista .I have to agree with olileauk,the media is wrong. I have no idea how bad it was in the beta stages but right Now RTM is running great. as I've stated in another thread here ,it far out performs what i experienced with xp and plays my games far better then xp has ever done. (And DX10 is awesome and is only going to get better as it develops)and then there is the fact of how long XP took to reach it's performace now compared to the leaps and bounds visa is coming along. when the SP1 comes out for vista your going to hear a lot of people Changing their opinions .But as always ,Dual boot FTW.Best of both worlds. Now if we could just get some better emotes on this site....lol
Last edited by Goku1983d on 05.11.2007, 19:44, edited 1 time in total.
CPU:AMD X2 4200+ OC'ed to 2.8 Ghz Zalman CNPS9500,
GPU: XFX 8800 GT XT 512 MB Alpha Dog Edition.
MOBO: Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H.
Ram: Mushkin HP DDR2-800 4GB.
OS: Vista Ultimate
PSU:Corsair VX550


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community