Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Looking to get into 3d modeling

Discuss topics unrelated to CRYENGINE.


 

User avatar
Tracer
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 3072
Member since: 20.01.2009, 02:39
Location: Glorious Texas
Likes: 278

Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby Tracer » 05.06.2012, 00:56

I've been working with CryEngine 2 & 3 for a while now, and have never really gotten into asset creation/design.
What I am wondering is, what is the best program to use for asset/vehicle creation? I know of Autodesk, but I don't exactly have $6,000+ laying around.
My friend recommends Hexagon, which I have never heard of.
What would y'all recommend?
Need a chuckle? Click here for CryDev Humor
Image
No support via PM
Skurcey
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 14
Member since: 19.08.2011, 20:19
Likes: 0

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby Skurcey » 05.06.2012, 02:30

blender if you can pass the interface
User avatar
Tracer
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 3072
Member since: 20.01.2009, 02:39
Location: Glorious Texas
Likes: 278

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby Tracer » 05.06.2012, 04:04

Is it inexpensive?
User avatar
NeoLegends
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1731
Member since: 21.10.2011, 23:50
Likes: 8

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby NeoLegends » 05.06.2012, 07:20

Free
User avatar
robe_id
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 290
Member since: 20.09.2011, 23:12
Location: mexico
Likes: 29

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby robe_id » 05.06.2012, 13:37

User avatar
Tracer
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 3072
Member since: 20.01.2009, 02:39
Location: Glorious Texas
Likes: 278

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby Tracer » 05.06.2012, 21:42

Awesome, I'll give it a try.
Lord Horc
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 44
Member since: 12.03.2012, 03:59
Likes: 0

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby Lord Horc » 08.06.2012, 03:03

Autodesk is free if your using it Non-Commercial and are a student
User avatar
NeoLegends
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1731
Member since: 21.10.2011, 23:50
Likes: 8

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby NeoLegends » 08.06.2012, 12:56

and also very good.
NoBNoB
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 38
Member since: 17.08.2011, 17:34
Likes: 1

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby NoBNoB » 09.06.2012, 18:31

Skurcey wrote:blender if you can pass the interface


If you have never used a 3D program before then the interface aint a problem, plus the new interface is much better than the old one, Max,Maya,Modo,Xsi,Lightwave,C4d,Blender ALL have very different interfaces, problems only happen when you are used to using one program and then have to switch to another one.
User avatar
zirakuta
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 585
Member since: 17.07.2011, 04:14
Location: The TyTilian Core
Likes: 2

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby zirakuta » 09.06.2012, 19:09

NoBNoB wrote:
Skurcey wrote:blender if you can pass the interface


If you have never used a 3D program before then the interface aint a problem, plus the new interface is much better than the old one, Max,Maya,Modo,Xsi,Lightwave,C4d,Blender ALL have very different interfaces, problems only happen when you are used to using one program and then have to switch to another one.


True that. I have gotten very used to Maya's interface, so when I decided to try 3DS Max I really hated the interface and have never gone back into Max since. :rolleyes: :p
User avatar
Stormfreek
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 707
Images: 2
Member since: 03.05.2012, 18:35
Location: Essex, London
Likes: 73

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby Stormfreek » 09.06.2012, 19:49

zirakuta wrote:
NoBNoB wrote:
Skurcey wrote:blender if you can pass the interface


If you have never used a 3D program before then the interface aint a problem, plus the new interface is much better than the old one, Max,Maya,Modo,Xsi,Lightwave,C4d,Blender ALL have very different interfaces, problems only happen when you are used to using one program and then have to switch to another one.


True that. I have gotten very used to Maya's interface, so when I decided to try 3DS Max I really hated the interface and have never gone back into Max since. :rolleyes: :p


Yeah, I mean it is totally possible to change but after screaming and shouting at maya and turning my back to go to max, just opening the program trying to build something was enough for me to return to maya :P They are totally different set ups, but one is not better than the other :D
Click for fun stuff! viewtopic.php?f=310&t=105239
User avatar
martin.hedin
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 321
Member since: 05.11.2011, 11:11
Location: Las Palmas, Spain / Stockholm, Sweden
Likes: 5

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby martin.hedin » 09.06.2012, 22:12

NoBNoB wrote:
Skurcey wrote:blender if you can pass the interface


If you have never used a 3D program before then the interface aint a problem, plus the new interface is much better than the old one, Max,Maya,Modo,Xsi,Lightwave,C4d,Blender ALL have very different interfaces, problems only happen when you are used to using one program and then have to switch to another one.


That is the thing isn't it? All software have different interfaces, we have to live with that, and the best is to get used to using different software, although you might not be a pro in all of them, maybe just one or two, but better to know a little about everything, helps in case of interoperability.
User avatar
NeoLegends
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1731
Member since: 21.10.2011, 23:50
Likes: 8

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby NeoLegends » 09.06.2012, 23:17

My favourite is still C4D because it is very very easy and bug-free. (even if I use Max for modelling)
User avatar
martin.hedin
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 321
Member since: 05.11.2011, 11:11
Location: Las Palmas, Spain / Stockholm, Sweden
Likes: 5

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby martin.hedin » 09.06.2012, 23:57

NeoLegends wrote:My favourite is still C4D because it is very very easy and bug-free. (even if I use Max for modelling)


Do you use C4D for modeling as well (importing into max perhaps), or do you mean that you just prefer it, but cannot use it for CE3?
User avatar
NeoLegends
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1731
Member since: 21.10.2011, 23:50
Likes: 8

Re: Looking to get into 3d modeling

Postby NeoLegends » 10.06.2012, 00:27

martin.hedin wrote:Do you use C4D for modeling as well (importing into max perhaps), or do you mean that you just prefer it, but cannot use it for CE3?

I formerly used Cinema 4D for everything, but now I "only" use it for rendering scenes and some basic modelling stuff. (like some spheres colliding, etc.)
I started using Max because of CryEngine and discovered it's better modelling features very soon compared to Cinema 4D and I still use it.
Anyway, I am neither familiar with the material editor, (okay, basics) nor with the renderer, so I'll export my UV-mapped meshes from Max to Cinema 4D for rendering.

To answer your question: Yes, I prefer it, but I use Max since I discovered it's modelling features and I can't use C4D for CryEngine.

Image

Anyways, Cinema 4D is just... easier and more bug-free compared to 3DS Max. In Max sometimes the viewport pivot goes crazy and appears behind (!) the camera, so I have to rotate mirrored. Or the zoom levels per mouse wheel scroll change and I have to rotate the entire mousewheel to come 1cm closer... Also Cinema 4D has better real-time shading. If you set the viewport to "Realistic" in Max, you have inaccurate, low-resolution shadows and AO. Cinema 4D has way better shadows and AO in realtime...
Also the interface in Cinema 4D seems more accurate and more well-thought. It's more friendly but also very easy.

That's the stuff I really don't like at Max, where Cinema 4D's just groundbreakin'. It's always the little things that make a program good and fun to use.

Image

You modify the camera with the 1, 2 and 3 keys and the camera pivot is automatically set at your current mouse position where it collides with geometry. If it doesn't collide with geo, it sets the camera pivot to the center of your viewport. It is very user friendly and easy to work with.
Press 1, 2 or 3 on the keyboard and use to mouse to operate further.
  • 1 to move camera
  • 2 to zoom
  • 3 to rotate


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community