Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Inventory System for Crysis

Use this section to show off your CE2 assets


 

User avatar Alex626
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2321
Member since: 15.04.2008, 19:40
Location: London, UK
Likes: 1

Inventory System for Crysis

Postby Alex626 » 12.11.2009, 15:56

Hi there !

I am working on an Inventory system for Crysis mods which is based on flowgraphs, FG nodes and Flash interface.

And this is not just a layout ! All values coming to the screen are from my flowgraph. I have more than 700 nodes at the moment.

The features are :

  • customiseble Flash interface
  • clickable menu
  • collect, manage weapons, use them from menu
  • player have a weapon limit now and cannot switch between all weapons he has - the list of available to choose weapons is building via menu.
  • similar to other FPS inventories
  • 16 slots for items


I don't have much time to post everything now, but media and more info info is coming soon.

Early screenshot:

Image
Last edited by Alex626 on 17.11.2009, 19:31, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar Alex Black
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 149
Member since: 28.06.2009, 15:43
Location: Germany
Likes: 0

Postby Alex Black » 12.11.2009, 16:02

Will see, hope soon. Good idea )
Image
User avatar AngelorD
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 345
Member since: 25.08.2008, 03:42
Likes: 0

Postby AngelorD » 12.11.2009, 16:50

Good idea, yet looks quite difficult to complete.
Keep at it and good luck!
User avatar Lee
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 648
Member since: 23.03.2009, 13:55
Location: Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Likes: 0

Postby Lee » 12.11.2009, 18:31

This has many applications, i hope you get it all down.
User avatar theanzelm
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 790
Member since: 03.08.2008, 16:42
Location: Germany
Likes: 0

Postby theanzelm » 13.11.2009, 21:58

Hey man!

This is just what I need!

If I can help you in any way, be it testing, flowgraphs, c++ or flash, let me know!
I'd love to support you on this!
User avatar Alex626
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2321
Member since: 15.04.2008, 19:40
Location: London, UK
Likes: 1

Postby Alex626 » 13.11.2009, 23:05

Originally posted by theanzelm
Hey man!

This is just what I need!

If I can help you in any way, be it testing, flowgraphs, c++ or flash, let me know!
I'd love to support you on this!


Wow ! Thank you !

I just need some FG nodes for managing an inventory - the nodes that will do: drop item, check\set the player grenade type and the weapon ammo count (not inventory). Also maybe you know that you cannot carry for example 4 scars - when you pickup one, you can just take ammo from another Scars.

That is a help what I need to make it completely cool.
User avatar theanzelm
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 790
Member since: 03.08.2008, 16:42
Location: Germany
Likes: 0

Postby theanzelm » 13.11.2009, 23:57

So basically I make the flowgraphs that manipulate the inventory and you make an UI and connect it to my FG'S?

Edit:

some more questions:

- I wanted to make it so you can have every pickable object in your inventory, for example stones or branches lying around. Is this ok for you?
(would be funny for rpg mods like mine)

- can I use the Flowgraph Plugin System?

- how do you want to graphically represent the items in the menu? Or is it only text?
Last edited by theanzelm on 14.11.2009, 00:03, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar Jewbucka
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 83
Member since: 14.06.2009, 07:56
Location: I live in Sydney, why not?
Likes: 0

Postby Jewbucka » 14.11.2009, 15:26

Sounds epic, Is it gonna be like the STALKER inventory? or just a small pop up one?
Image
User avatar Alex626
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2321
Member since: 15.04.2008, 19:40
Location: London, UK
Likes: 1

Postby Alex626 » 14.11.2009, 18:57

Originally posted by theanzelm
So basically I make the flowgraphs that manipulate the inventory and you make an UI and connect it to my FG'S?

Edit:

some more questions:

- I wanted to make it so you can have every pickable object in your inventory, for example stones or branches lying around. Is this ok for you?
(would be funny for rpg mods like mine)

- can I use the Flowgraph Plugin System?

- how do you want to graphically represent the items in the menu? Or is it only text?


I think we can merge the flowgraphs is your one is quite difficult.

- Yes, it is possible, but you will need to make every branch to be a pickable item - tale a look at AlienCloak and NanoSuit items - you will see that it is only contains a name and geometry file. Such items are "Player Feature" class.

- Yes. The FGPS system is available to anybody.

- I am using a layout that looks similar to Boiling Point and stalker one. But there are slots instead of grid. Every slot displays the item icon. There are totally 16 slots. I will post screenshots.

Jewbucka, not a small menu, but it will be similar to stalker.
User avatar Alex626
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2321
Member since: 15.04.2008, 19:40
Location: London, UK
Likes: 1

Postby Alex626 » 17.11.2009, 11:42

Here is an earlier screenshot of my system:

Image
User avatar theanzelm
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 790
Member since: 03.08.2008, 16:42
Location: Germany
Likes: 0

Postby theanzelm » 17.11.2009, 14:34

Looks very nice!

I think I can start with the FG work next week
User avatar Alex626
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2321
Member since: 15.04.2008, 19:40
Location: London, UK
Likes: 1

Postby Alex626 » 17.11.2009, 17:16

Originally posted by theanzelm
Looks very nice!

I think I can start with the FG work next week


What part will you manage ? I think I will give you my part so we can make the crew !
User avatar theanzelm
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 790
Member since: 03.08.2008, 16:42
Location: Germany
Likes: 0

Postby theanzelm » 17.11.2009, 19:03

What do you exactly mean?

I'm doing the FG's
User avatar Alex626
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2321
Member since: 15.04.2008, 19:40
Location: London, UK
Likes: 1

Postby Alex626 » 17.11.2009, 19:28

Originally posted by theanzelm
What do you exactly mean?

I'm doing the FG's


Yeah, I am also doing them. Everuthing you see on a screen is flowgraph-driven, because it would be no-sense to post a thread about just a flash layout of a system. For today I got moe than 700 nodes in my fg.

So only one way is to join flowgraphs work or stop doing it together.
User avatar theanzelm
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 790
Member since: 03.08.2008, 16:42
Location: Germany
Likes: 0

Postby theanzelm » 17.11.2009, 23:06

OK my suggestion is:

You make the weapon inventory FG, send it to me,

then I make the pickable objects inventory FG and add it to yours.

It will be complicated to join our two FG's, but I want to try it because this is a nice project!


cron
 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community