Forums Gallery LOGIN |REGISTER

photoshop elements 9 - DDS plug in?

Topics about 3DS Max, Softimage, Maya, Photoshop, and various other software packages.


 

User avatar Bladestar
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1941
Member since: 17.06.2009, 12:26
Location: South Africa
Likes: 0

photoshop elements 9 - DDS plug in?

Postby Bladestar » 15.12.2010, 19:46

please help...

does anyone know if there is a DDS plug in for photoshop elements 9?
i know theres one for the full photoshop cs3 package but it won't run in the elements edition..

thanks
User avatar hmmm
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2376
Member since: 19.04.2008, 19:58
Location: London, England
Likes: 0

RE: photoshop elements 9 - DDS plug in?

Postby hmmm » 15.12.2010, 19:52

Dont think so; although im not sure on the compatibility of the nvidia one; there are probably a few dds plugins around just have a look.
Image
User avatar zukov
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 764
Member since: 26.12.2008, 22:03
Location: Rome Italy
Likes: 0

Postby zukov » 15.12.2010, 19:58

try to check the folder installation , the nvdia package installs the plugin in a wrong path
User avatar Bladestar
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1941
Member since: 17.06.2009, 12:26
Location: South Africa
Likes: 0

Postby Bladestar » 15.12.2010, 20:39

Originally posted by zukov
try to check the folder installation , the nvdia package installs the plugin in a wrong path


@ hmmm...i have searched the net for like an hour...none seem to be around except for the nvidia one :(

Thanks for the help guys!
the plugin is installed like this:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Elements 9 Organizer\Plug-Ins\File Formats

is this where it should be?

Edit, it also appears to be in this folder?
C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Plug-Ins\File Formats/dds.8bi
Last edited by Bladestar on 15.12.2010, 20:42, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar BuLL
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1019
Member since: 18.01.2008, 00:21
Location: N.Lincolnshire
Likes: 1

Postby BuLL » 15.12.2010, 20:45

Mines here if it helps.

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS2\Plug-Ins\File Formats

Alternatively ,you could use Gimp or Irfanview for dds conversion/save.
Last edited by BuLL on 15.12.2010, 20:54, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar Bladestar
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1941
Member since: 17.06.2009, 12:26
Location: South Africa
Likes: 0

Postby Bladestar » 15.12.2010, 21:07

thanks Bull

my file structure is wierd...see attached

i have the normal map plug in for paint.net but i keep getting non-3dc format errors when i load my map.
i saw a post about photoshop being able to save the dds in a 3dc format to make it dx10 compatible

is gimp's plugin 3dc compatible?
User avatar BuLL
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1019
Member since: 18.01.2008, 00:21
Location: N.Lincolnshire
Likes: 1

Postby BuLL » 15.12.2010, 21:18

Originally posted by Bladestaris gimp's plugin 3dc compatible?


No idea on gimps dds save range..You`ll have to check that info out for yourself bud.
User avatar Bladestar
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1941
Member since: 17.06.2009, 12:26
Location: South Africa
Likes: 0

Postby Bladestar » 15.12.2010, 21:59

will do..thanks
User avatar Phaser001
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 29
Member since: 13.11.2007, 02:07
Likes: 0

Re: photoshop elements 9 - DDS plug in?

Postby Phaser001 » 09.08.2011, 16:51

HI,

I have find this link :
http://wiki.thesimsresource.com/index.php?title=DDS

Normally the dds plugin cs should work.
I have myself element I would try too.




EDIT :

It works.
I have windows 7 64 bit.
I tried the plugin version in 64 bit, it does not work, but the 32 bit version works fine with Photoshop Elements 9 even on windows 7 64 bit.
Here if it can be useful for some to know. :happy:

links for nvidia plugin that work : http://developer.nvidia.com/nvidia-text ... -photoshop