Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

photoshop elements 9 - DDS plug in?

Topics about 3DS Max, Softimage, Maya, Photoshop, and various other software packages.


 

Bladestar
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1941
Member since: 17.06.2009, 12:26
Location: South Africa
Likes: 0

photoshop elements 9 - DDS plug in?

Postby Bladestar » 15.12.2010, 19:46

please help...

does anyone know if there is a DDS plug in for photoshop elements 9?
i know theres one for the full photoshop cs3 package but it won't run in the elements edition..

thanks
User avatar
hmmm
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2376
Member since: 19.04.2008, 19:58
Location: London, England
Likes: 0

RE: photoshop elements 9 - DDS plug in?

Postby hmmm » 15.12.2010, 19:52

Dont think so; although im not sure on the compatibility of the nvidia one; there are probably a few dds plugins around just have a look.
Image
User avatar
zukov
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 764
Member since: 26.12.2008, 22:03
Location: Rome Italy
Likes: 0

Postby zukov » 15.12.2010, 19:58

try to check the folder installation , the nvdia package installs the plugin in a wrong path
Bladestar
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1941
Member since: 17.06.2009, 12:26
Location: South Africa
Likes: 0

Postby Bladestar » 15.12.2010, 20:39

Originally posted by zukov
try to check the folder installation , the nvdia package installs the plugin in a wrong path


@ hmmm...i have searched the net for like an hour...none seem to be around except for the nvidia one :(

Thanks for the help guys!
the plugin is installed like this:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Elements 9 Organizer\Plug-Ins\File Formats

is this where it should be?

Edit, it also appears to be in this folder?
C:\Program Files (x86)\Adobe\Plug-Ins\File Formats/dds.8bi
Last edited by Bladestar on 15.12.2010, 20:42, edited 2 times in total.
BuLL
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1019
Member since: 18.01.2008, 00:21
Location: N.Lincolnshire
Likes: 1

Postby BuLL » 15.12.2010, 20:45

Mines here if it helps.

C:\Program Files\Adobe\Adobe Photoshop CS2\Plug-Ins\File Formats

Alternatively ,you could use Gimp or Irfanview for dds conversion/save.
Last edited by BuLL on 15.12.2010, 20:54, edited 1 time in total.
Bladestar
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1941
Member since: 17.06.2009, 12:26
Location: South Africa
Likes: 0

Postby Bladestar » 15.12.2010, 21:07

thanks Bull

my file structure is wierd...see attached

i have the normal map plug in for paint.net but i keep getting non-3dc format errors when i load my map.
i saw a post about photoshop being able to save the dds in a 3dc format to make it dx10 compatible

is gimp's plugin 3dc compatible?
BuLL
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1019
Member since: 18.01.2008, 00:21
Location: N.Lincolnshire
Likes: 1

Postby BuLL » 15.12.2010, 21:18

Originally posted by Bladestaris gimp's plugin 3dc compatible?


No idea on gimps dds save range..You`ll have to check that info out for yourself bud.
Bladestar
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1941
Member since: 17.06.2009, 12:26
Location: South Africa
Likes: 0

Postby Bladestar » 15.12.2010, 21:59

will do..thanks
Phaser001
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 29
Member since: 13.11.2007, 02:07
Likes: 0

Re: photoshop elements 9 - DDS plug in?

Postby Phaser001 » 09.08.2011, 16:51

HI,

I have find this link :
http://wiki.thesimsresource.com/index.php?title=DDS

Normally the dds plugin cs should work.
I have myself element I would try too.




EDIT :

It works.
I have windows 7 64 bit.
I tried the plugin version in 64 bit, it does not work, but the 32 bit version works fine with Photoshop Elements 9 even on windows 7 64 bit.
Here if it can be useful for some to know. :happy:

links for nvidia plugin that work : http://developer.nvidia.com/nvidia-text ... -photoshop


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community