Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Topics about 3DS Max, Softimage, Maya, Photoshop, and various other software packages.


 

bharathsn
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 7
Member since: 05.09.2013, 16:29
Likes: 0

3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Postby bharathsn » 27.11.2013, 20:02

Hi all,

I have been trying to export a model designed in max 2013 to cryengine 3.5.4.
I have been facing an error as folows

Tube001 has these verts too close to each other : ------ . please move them further apart.

can anybody please tel me now to fix this problem.

Thanks
-bsn
Attachments
error.jpg
error screen shot ...
User avatar
iSqueezee
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1967
Member since: 05.11.2011, 16:26
Location: Czech Republic
Likes: 49

Re: 3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Postby iSqueezee » 28.11.2013, 09:35

Try to apply noise modifier and play around with the settings. It should do the trick :)
bharathsn
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 7
Member since: 05.09.2013, 16:29
Likes: 0

Re: 3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Postby bharathsn » 28.11.2013, 16:25

Hi isqueezee,

Did it, but still error is coming up.

Can we able to figure out the position of a vertex having something like #(1432,12321) this , so that we could adjust it manually. ?( .

thanks
-bsn
User avatar
MegaManfred
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 136
Member since: 07.11.2011, 17:30
Location: Germany (BW)
Likes: 14

Re: 3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Postby MegaManfred » 28.11.2013, 16:35

Sometimes you can simply scale it to a bigger size. This sometimes worked for me.
bharathsn
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 7
Member since: 05.09.2013, 16:29
Likes: 0

Re: 3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Postby bharathsn » 28.11.2013, 17:06

Hi MegaManfred,

I tried it, worked and exported properly after i scaled it to around 10 times the normal one.

Is there any way to find out the position of a vertex using #( num , num ) .???

Thanks
-bsn
User avatar
Desel
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 359
Member since: 20.07.2013, 09:27
Likes: 64

Re: 3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Postby Desel » 04.12.2013, 00:40

If you want to figure out the coordinate of a vertex in 3ds max, I would just activate vertex mode ( press 1 ) then select the vertex and activate the move tool ( press w ) and check out the x,y,z coordinates at the bottom. Make sure that the "offset" isn't enabled though or it will just show 0,0,0.

There must be a command also but I don't know it.

If you know the coordinate and want to find it on screen I would be creative and create a quick arrow and move the pivot point to the tip of the arrow. Then Ill move the arrow to the coordinate and inspect the tip of the arrow :D
bharathsn
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 7
Member since: 05.09.2013, 16:29
Likes: 0

Re: 3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Postby bharathsn » 05.12.2013, 17:03

hello all,

Im not finding a solution for my quest,
Did every thing like welding the nearest vertices, even though i'm getting an error it says

" <car> has these verts too close to each other: #(20340, 1603). please move them further appart."

what is this kind of representation of #( 20340, 1603), if v can figure out the culprit vertex so that v can do some tweaks to that particular vertex. :sad:

i have waited long enough but no solution . ?( ...

Thanks
-bsn
Kraken Games
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 487
Member since: 22.08.2013, 15:13
Likes: 120

Re: 3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Postby Kraken Games » 05.12.2013, 19:37

bharathsn wrote:what is this kind of representation of #( 20340, 1603), if v can figure out the culprit vertex so that v can do some tweaks to that particular vertex. :sad:

20340 and 1603 are representing the vertices that are too close to one another. Each vertex in your mesh has a unique number assigned to it.

In your above example you would have to locate vertex 20340 and 1603 and move them further apart. Which in your case could become quite tedious and time consuming, as you seem to have a bunch of those vertices.
Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit. Wisdom is not putting it in the fruit salad.
bharathsn
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 7
Member since: 05.09.2013, 16:29
Likes: 0

Re: 3DS max to CryENGINE 3 export problem

Postby bharathsn » 05.12.2013, 19:53

Hi,

I have reduced those things to only one by applying weld on the model ..

so i have only one pair to fix the error that is the one mentioned above.

using that particular unique number how do i find out the vertex ?( ..

Thanks
bsn


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community