Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

n00b question about format

Topics about 3DS Max, Softimage, Maya, Photoshop, and various other software packages.


 

djinni69
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 5
Member since: 15.10.2007, 16:57
Likes: 0

n00b question about format

Postby djinni69 » 01.11.2007, 17:06

Hey Gang,

I'm quite new to modelling (programmer, the whole way), and I wondered if I could use Caligari's gameSpace 1.6 to create some basic assets for my Crysis mod? What format does CryEngine2 recognize when dealing with models? I can't seem to locate any information on it. Any help? Thanks!

Brett
User avatar
RayDX
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 163
Member since: 29.10.2007, 22:49
Location: Croatia
Likes: 0

Postby RayDX » 01.11.2007, 17:12

I'd suggest you wait up for the SDK, because now it's a real pain in the ass to import files because it includes a lot of reverse engineering hehehe :D. There's a nice tutorial Clivey wrote in the topic down below if you could get your hands on a lovely 3D modeling tool called 3ds max and the ways to import 3d models to CE2 hehe :D Cheers!
Last edited by RayDX on 01.11.2007, 17:13, edited 1 time in total.
djinni69
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 5
Member since: 15.10.2007, 16:57
Likes: 0

Postby djinni69 » 01.11.2007, 17:14

Argh! I was worried you might tell me that :) Thanks!!!
User avatar
RayDX
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 163
Member since: 29.10.2007, 22:49
Location: Croatia
Likes: 0

Postby RayDX » 01.11.2007, 17:24

Originally posted by djinni69
Argh! I was worried you might tell me that :) Thanks!!!


I suggest to you if you are so enthusiastic about modding Crysis, play around with Sandbox2, get to know it and have fun for starters. When the SDK comes out, there'll be plenty of time to lose your hair with troubles of exporting/importing. :D

However, there's no better feeling when you succeed at whatever your intentions were! Um, just a little disclaimer: This doesn't include running over your mother-in-law with a Mercedes!
djinni69
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 5
Member since: 15.10.2007, 16:57
Likes: 0

Postby djinni69 » 01.11.2007, 17:28

I've been tinkering non-stop with Sandbox2, but now I wanted to start taking the next step. Bummer I gotta wait, but "Them's tha breaks!!!" or so they say ...
User avatar
RayDX
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 163
Member since: 29.10.2007, 22:49
Location: Croatia
Likes: 0

Postby RayDX » 01.11.2007, 17:31

Hehe, after all, what we have here is just a plain demonstration of what the full version and the SDK will offer. Be patient. As they would say it in my country: Patient, saved! Although it rhymes here heheh :D Nevemind! :)
Last edited by RayDX on 01.11.2007, 17:32, edited 2 times in total.
djinni69
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 5
Member since: 15.10.2007, 16:57
Likes: 0

Postby djinni69 » 01.11.2007, 17:41

Originally posted by RayDX
Hehe, after all, what we have here is just a plain demonstration of what the full version and the SDK will offer. Be patient. As they would say it in my country: Patient, saved! Although it rhymes here heheh :D Nevemind! :)


LOL!! I got what ya mean :) It's that "geek patience" of mine, ya know? The Geek knows what he wants, and he wants it RIGHT NOW ;) He wants the never before seen, unedited, Director's cut ... lol, ever hear the spoken word stuff from Ernie Cline? Priceless, and I'm totally convinced he is talking about me the whole time.

Google Ernie Cline, and thank me later. How's that for topic derailment?!?!?! lol

Brett
Vehn
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1203
Member since: 29.10.2007, 07:40
Likes: 0

Postby Vehn » 01.11.2007, 18:04

patience is a virtue >.>
User avatar
sideshowbob
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1560
Member since: 12.06.2007, 12:47
Location: germany
Likes: 0

Postby sideshowbob » 01.11.2007, 19:42

there is a free version of max called gmax
theres also a free mod version of softimage xsi

i prefere xsi.. but theres no crysis exporter for any of these ( as far as i know )

you can use any of them to create your models
but to get them into Crysis you will need max 8 or 9 or maya


for video tutorials of 3dsmax and xsi u may click here -> http://www.iwannamap.com/tutorial.php?type=model
Last edited by sideshowbob on 01.11.2007, 19:42, edited 1 time in total.
/ color dance
User avatar
Blackice
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 869
Member since: 01.08.2007, 17:15
Location: Canada
Likes: 0

Postby Blackice » 01.11.2007, 23:08

I would try the XSI one as Crytek is supporting XSI
Image
blackbadger
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 90
Member since: 29.10.2007, 20:38
Likes: 0

Postby blackbadger » 01.11.2007, 23:53

Hi djinni69

Yes you will be able to use gameSpace 1.6 to create some basic assets for your Crysis mod, whatever 3D modeling and texturing application you are proficiant in, will be fine for the development stage.

The format the cryengine accepts is its own cfg format. So once you have created your assets you will need them converted, currently only max and maya can do this with xsi support planned for the future. This will be the case even when the sdk comes out.

So you will need to save from gamespace to a format max or maya supports, you will then need to setup the shaders to the crysis format - a procedure that is unavoidable no matter what application you use. then hit export to cryengine via the plugin.

Unless your planning on spending months developing scenes etc, there is no need to learn how to model in max maya or xsi if you are allready familair with another system.
djinni69
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 5
Member since: 15.10.2007, 16:57
Likes: 0

Postby djinni69 » 02.11.2007, 17:01

Excellent, thanks guys, especially for the straight between the eyes explanations!!
Last edited by djinni69 on 02.11.2007, 17:01, edited 1 time in total.


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community