Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Skybox tool released

Use this section to show off miscellaneous CE3 projects including Fan Art, ToD's, Configs other projects.


 

cwright
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2310
Member since: 11.08.2004, 12:38
Likes: 75

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby cwright » 29.04.2012, 12:12

TheChan,
I have no problem with positive criticism. But please do not use terms that are, quite frankly, insulting.
If you don't like it you can always ask for your money back!
Chris
fred64
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 48
Member since: 19.06.2011, 09:01
Likes: 0

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby fred64 » 06.05.2012, 07:55

Thank you Chris,
fantastic as always, now we have terrains and skies, look forward to something to explore them too :) (I know it takes times... but I cant wait to see a sample od your aircraft on CE3)

bye
Fred
Author of Helicopter Total Realism
a realistic helicopter library for FSX
cwright
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2310
Member since: 11.08.2004, 12:38
Likes: 75

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby cwright » 07.05.2012, 11:37

Hi fred,
Thanks for the comments!
Right now I'm busy on the spaceflight simulator, but I really must take some time out to make the CE3 aircraft demo. Hope it won't be too long....
Regards,
Chris
User avatar
iSqueezee
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1967
Member since: 05.11.2011, 16:26
Location: Czech Republic
Likes: 49

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby iSqueezee » 14.07.2012, 23:55

Hey man, I just wanted to create some skybox. Well, I got generated panorama and everything was ok. But when I tried to open the panorama in the Photoshop, it said an unexpected end-of-file was encountered. That happened to me in CS4. And now Im using CS6. Any suggestions so far?
cwright
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2310
Member since: 11.08.2004, 12:38
Likes: 75

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby cwright » 15.07.2012, 12:54

Hi iSqueezee,
Sorry to hear you're having problems.
First, you could check the file size. On my system, if the input bitmaps are 512*256, the size of the panorama file (.bmp) is 3.1 Mb approx. Is your file size similar?
Try opening the panorama in another paint program e.g. Microsoft Paint, which is probably installed on your computer.
Check that the input bitmaps are 24 bit and of the correct size (e.g. 512*256 or 1024*512)
If still no joy, could you send me the panorama .bmp file and one or more of the input files. If you put them into a zip you should be able to send them as an attachment to your message.
Regards,
Chris
User avatar
iSqueezee
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1967
Member since: 05.11.2011, 16:26
Location: Czech Republic
Likes: 49

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby iSqueezee » 15.07.2012, 16:54

Oh yeah, I wanted to ask if there are any size rules. Because my inputs was in a different sizes, and was 2240x1640. So it was even in scale of 1:2 or 2:4. I will give it one more try and tell ou the results ;)
cwright
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2310
Member since: 11.08.2004, 12:38
Likes: 75

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby cwright » 16.07.2012, 11:33

iSqueezee wrote:Oh yeah, I wanted to ask if there are any size rules. Because my inputs was in a different sizes, and was 2240x1640. So it was even in scale of 1:2 or 2:4. I will give it one more try and tell ou the results ;)

Yes, that's the problem. It won't work with those sizes. Here's a quote from the manual:
.
" You begin the process by preparing the five input bitmaps. I will refer to the four views (facing N, E, S and W respectively) as the wall textures and the view above as the roof texture. If you are going to use the default skybox size then the four wall textures should be sized 512*256. They should be standard 24 bit bitmap (.bmp) files. The roof texture should be sized 512*512. Five example input textures can be found in the skybox\textures\example directory. For higher quality you can double the size of the five bitmaps (1024*512 and 1024*1024). The wall textures must be named input1.bmp to input4.bmp (going clockwise) while the roof texture must be named input5.bmp."
.
You could test it with the five example input bitmaps, or resize your bitmaps to 1024*512, and the roof bitmap to 1024*1024. It should work for higher resolutions e.g. wall=2048*1024, roof=2048*2048.
Let me know how it goes....
Chris
BrotherTuck
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 32
Member since: 25.02.2012, 16:40
Likes: 0

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby BrotherTuck » 31.07.2012, 22:28

Hey,

first of all: well done, its a nice tool :-)

But now my question.
I can not create the .dds files, as effect I change the file-typ of the box_5.bmp, box_34.bmp and box_12.bmp to .tga and save them under my cryengine-directory.
But if I try to create the material I got the error shown in the attached screenshot.

Please help :-(

EDIT: After I installed the directx sdk I got 3 dds-files but the error does not dissappear.
Attachments
runtime_error.jpg
Last edited by BrotherTuck on 31.07.2012, 23:01, edited 1 time in total.
XeroX
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 283
Member since: 08.08.2011, 17:20
Likes: 13

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby XeroX » 31.07.2012, 22:38

Nice that should be a good way to get some levels away from the *standard* CryEngine look. :cheesy:
cwright
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2310
Member since: 11.08.2004, 12:38
Likes: 75

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby cwright » 01.08.2012, 11:22

Hi BrotherTuck,
In the screen shot, you have an incorrect setting in Cry Engine Directory.
It must be the main Cry Engine directory, in my case it would be
c:\programs\CE3_Free_SDK_337
As you've installed the DirectX SDK, and with the correct setting, it will probably work.
Let me know how it goes!
Best regards,
Chris
BrotherTuck
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 32
Member since: 25.02.2012, 16:40
Likes: 0

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby BrotherTuck » 01.08.2012, 21:02

I don't have such a directory.

Did I maybe fail in installing the cryengine?
I just unziped the folder and moved it to my documents.

And thats the directory i inserted...
It's C:\Users\Me\Documents\CryEngine3\Game\Textures\Skys\SkyboxA

May there be any problem with that?

Thx for your help, though :-)

EDIT: Just got the error that the directory is not available as i tried to create some other stuff in the sandbox-editor. Since I've got the new version of the CryEngine 3 SDK everything goes wrong. Just saying, not raging. Maybe it is my fault.
User avatar
iSqueezee
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1967
Member since: 05.11.2011, 16:26
Location: Czech Republic
Likes: 49

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby iSqueezee » 01.08.2012, 21:33

BrotherTuck wrote:I don't have such a directory.

Did I maybe fail in installing the cryengine?
I just unziped the folder and moved it to my documents.

And thats the directory i inserted...
It's C:\Users\Me\Documents\CryEngine3\Game\Textures\Skys\SkyboxA

May there be any problem with that?

Thx for your help, though :-)

EDIT: Just got the error that the directory is not available as i tried to create some other stuff in the sandbox-editor. Since I've got the new version of the CryEngine 3 SDK everything goes wrong. Just saying, not raging. Maybe it is my fault.

Just put in the root folder for god sake. Which is (in your case) "C:\Users\Me\Documents\CryEngine3"
BrotherTuck
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 32
Member since: 25.02.2012, 16:40
Likes: 0

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby BrotherTuck » 01.08.2012, 21:56

Nope, that did not help.
But thanks for your harsh words to help me ;)

After I clicked make skybox it looks like the attached picture. But I have got .dds files in my skybox directory, though.

PS: changed directory of my CryEngine3 folder to test something.
Attachments
textures_2012-08-01_21-47-07.jpg
BrotherTuck
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 32
Member since: 25.02.2012, 16:40
Likes: 0

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby BrotherTuck » 01.08.2012, 22:11

Well finally I did it.

The problem was that there has to be a folder called materials\sky and mine was called \materials\skys -.-

Well thanks for your help and now let's rock the sky!

Will be back soon to annoy you with more stupid questions ;-)
User avatar
iSqueezee
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1967
Member since: 05.11.2011, 16:26
Location: Czech Republic
Likes: 49

Re: Skybox tool released

Postby iSqueezee » 02.08.2012, 10:12

BrotherTuck wrote:Nope, that did not help.
But thanks for your harsh words to help me ;)


Well, I just was quite pissed from what you have write.


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community