Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Custom Grenade

Topics about 3DS Max, Maya, Photoshop, and various other software packages.


 

User avatar
AsianNoodles
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 306
Member since: 20.03.2012, 09:29
Location: Sultan, Washington State
Likes: 12

Custom Grenade

Postby AsianNoodles » 23.04.2012, 22:37

Hi, I have seen a lot of tutorials on making custom guns and what not, but how would one go about making a custom grenade, or at least changing the model.

Thanks.
User avatar
Olli.
Executive Producer
Executive Producer
 
Posts: 4713
Member since: 16.12.2007, 16:07
Location: Finland
Likes: 12

Re: Custom Grenade

Postby Olli. » 25.04.2012, 13:37

grenade is just another weapon stored in frag_grenade.chr
http://www.TriangulateMesh.com
(10:36:53 PM) puppy: crymono?
(10:37:00 PM) puppy: is that some sort of illness
User avatar
AsianNoodles
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 306
Member since: 20.03.2012, 09:29
Location: Sultan, Washington State
Likes: 12

Re: Custom Grenade

Postby AsianNoodles » 29.04.2012, 09:32

When open the sample assets to replace it I can't even find where I should put the frag grenade model, for example in the weapon files, it shows the hands with the gun, this is not true in the frag grenade file. So what do I do then?
User avatar
AsianNoodles
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 306
Member since: 20.03.2012, 09:29
Location: Sultan, Washington State
Likes: 12

Re: Custom Grenade

Postby AsianNoodles » 01.05.2012, 10:12

I really would like some assistance. Anyone?
User avatar
Olli.
Executive Producer
Executive Producer
 
Posts: 4713
Member since: 16.12.2007, 16:07
Location: Finland
Likes: 12

Re: Custom Grenade

Postby Olli. » 01.05.2012, 12:54

hrmh like i already said, the grenade model is stored in frag_grenade.chr

the way the frag grenade works, is that you have the model in one file, then you have another file with a rig, which has an animation. this is player.chr that came with the example files for c2 mod SDK. the animations are stored in animations>human>male>weapons>frag_gren

if you just want to replace the model, you dont need to worry about the animations. The point of having the animations seperate from the model, is that in the engine the game will just paste the model on to a bone in the animation, meaning you can change the model to whatever you want without losing the anims.

edit: there is no grenade in sample assets, but if you just overwrite in the matching directory in your mod dir, it will use your custom model instead of he vanilla one.
http://www.TriangulateMesh.com
(10:36:53 PM) puppy: crymono?
(10:37:00 PM) puppy: is that some sort of illness
User avatar
AsianNoodles
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 306
Member since: 20.03.2012, 09:29
Location: Sultan, Washington State
Likes: 12

Re: Custom Grenade

Postby AsianNoodles » 01.05.2012, 22:20

Oh, I get it, so the grenade is the .chr, I didn't make that connection(I must be retarded). Sorry about that but thanks for explaining it further, this stuff is helpful. ( I want to have it in the .pak objects folder and not the "mod" directory, also that isn't in the free sdk like it in Crysis 2's directory. So is the game folder the equivalent?
(I'd still like to have it in the .pak)
User avatar
ralphdelrey
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 1
Member since: 27.06.2012, 03:15
Likes: 0

Re: Custom Grenade

Postby ralphdelrey » 27.06.2012, 03:20

good post Olli i was just looking some info's here as im new here well at least i learned something new here thanks for this thread
a life without fallkniven is death in disguise


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community