Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

How to make a new entity?

Topics about 3DS Max, Maya, Photoshop, and various other software packages.


 

User avatar
hassanayoub85
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 210
Member since: 01.09.2005, 22:13
Location: Lebanon
Likes: 0

How to make a new entity?

Postby hassanayoub85 » 27.07.2012, 17:44

Dear,
In CryEngine1, we were adding entities by adding them to the class registry.lua, and put the lua file, then the object being shown in the entities in the sandbox.
How to add entities in CE3?
Thx
Nothing Is Impossible. The Only Inpossible Is Saying Impossible. So Don't Say It.
User avatar
Mika
Honourable Member
Honourable Member
 
Posts: 605
Member since: 01.11.2010, 15:28
Location: Orlando, FL
Likes: 10

Re: How to make a new entity?

Postby Mika » 30.07.2012, 17:14

You will have to create an ent file.
ENT files are very small files that basically just reference to the actual LUA script. They are located in the folder Game/Entities. Take any file from there to look at the syntax, and it should be no problem.

Note: This is not applicable for AI characters.
ballbvl1
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 6
Member since: 04.04.2012, 18:29
Likes: 0

Re: How to make a new entity?

Postby ballbvl1 » 06.08.2012, 00:47

So what is the process for an AI entity then? Thanks.
Rinz
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 219
Member since: 21.12.2011, 14:24
Location: Holland
Likes: 3

Re: How to make a new entity?

Postby Rinz » 08.08.2012, 11:57

ballbvl1 wrote:So what is the process for an AI entity then? Thanks.


http://www.crydev.net/viewtopic.php?f=314&t=93213
In this thread its explained how to make a new AI entity.
Hope it helps.


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community