Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Topics about 3DS Max, Maya, Photoshop, and various other software packages.


 

nachor
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 38
Member since: 04.06.2010, 17:53
Likes: 0

SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Postby nachor » 17.08.2012, 05:03

I've been giving modeling a try, and decided I would create a new building (based on textures from CGTextures) I need for a project we are working on. I know this isn't the best way to go, but since I'm not able to model in 3DStudio directly, I modeled the facade in Sketchup, and then imported the SKP in MAX. The thing is, it exports with no warnings at all, but when I open the cgf in the SDK, it's a mess, full of holes (mainly due to the fact that individual meshes are displaced from the relative coordinates thay shared in MAX) and with all round surfaces squared... When i check in in MAX, everything looks fine. I tried exporting to fbx and back into MAX, which actuually helped me with an issue with materials not being recognized when exporting from the original MAX files, and I did the same with obj and 3ds files, though this ones gave me errors when imported... I'm completely lost, and can't understand why this isn't working... I've attached the MAX files (along with its textures) for reference, in case anyone is willing to help me!!! If you need any other files to look at, please let me know and I'll try to upload them!!! Thanks in advance!!!! ;)
Attachments
textures.zip
This are the tectures that correspond to the MAX files I attached.
(4.99 MiB) Downloaded 27 times
NeoclassicalBuilding01.zip
This is the original MAX file imported directly from Sketchup.
(6.6 MiB) Downloaded 29 times
plumbjet
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 140
Member since: 24.09.2009, 13:33
Likes: 3

Re: SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Postby plumbjet » 17.08.2012, 07:45

Try selecting all parts of the model and apply and reset Xform and then convert to editable poly. Also you may find that some of the polys normals may be the wronge way round.
nachor
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 38
Member since: 04.06.2010, 17:53
Likes: 0

Re: SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Postby nachor » 17.08.2012, 21:41

Hey, plumb, I've already applied/reset Xform but no luck... normals seem fine from what I can tell... It's pretty frustrating, but it would seem the only way to export cgf from max, is to create the model in max. Any other way, and you might get errors during the export process, or get this atrociously exported models as the one I got... if you or anyone has any further advice, it will be most welcome, but I'm guessing I will need to forget about my model, and just hire a 3dsmax modeler for each project I must complete. Pretty frustrtating since the model can export/import into every format I tried, and Maya, 3dsmax, CAD software, sketchup, can propery read and render them, but the cryexport plugin fails to do the same.
Ales Kuptsevich
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 6
Member since: 18.08.2011, 21:36
Likes: 0

Re: SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Postby Ales Kuptsevich » 17.08.2012, 22:58

Importing complicated Sketchup models into 3ds Max and exporting CFG from there is one of the worst way of making assets. I've tried it once just of curiosity and it ended in similar results.
It is true that you have to prepare your models in 3ds Max from very beginning. Sketchup is simple, but lacks many features like proper UV mapping and smoothing groups tweaking.
Your model also has too many polygons for a proper game asset. Mind this if you are preparing it for a game.
nachor
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 38
Member since: 04.06.2010, 17:53
Likes: 0

Re: SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Postby nachor » 18.08.2012, 00:33

Ales, it isn't meant for a game, so the polycount isn't an issue... in fact, it runs pretty fast when placed in the engine, but yes... evidently it is pretty impossible to go SKP-MAX-CGF... too bad, I wished I could import that building into our project... unless anyone has any idea how to do it...
dlaforce
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 41
Member since: 18.08.2011, 16:06
Likes: 2

Re: SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Postby dlaforce » 18.08.2012, 02:05

Try this

1. Import skp to max
2. Export as obj ( export as quads in case need to do cleanup)
3. In new scene import obj
4. Export to CE


Deep View which is free can import skp and export to rh format. Import plugin
is available for max to import the rh file. Might be extra steps, but works in most
cases ( if mesh is clean). Deep View also imports many other file formats.
If you're NOT making great games, you belong
in an institute. The Game Institute!
www.gameinstitute.com
Ales Kuptsevich
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 6
Member since: 18.08.2011, 21:36
Likes: 0

Re: SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Postby Ales Kuptsevich » 18.08.2012, 04:08

You may also try breaking your model into basic similar meshes in Sketchup. Don't export the whole building, it will cause lots of errors. Try to import these basic meshes individually into 3ds Max. You will have more control this way. Prepare these parts (check normals, apply proper smoothing groups) and try exporting them into Cryengine one by one. If they work fine you will be able to construct your building from these "blocks" in 3ds Max. Well, it sounds weird but it may help a bit.
nachor
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 38
Member since: 04.06.2010, 17:53
Likes: 0

Re: SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Postby nachor » 18.08.2012, 07:30

Tnaks guys, will try all your suggestions, and get back to you with my results...! ;)
User avatar
Ruan
Has seen it all
Has seen it all
 
Posts: 11741
Images: 0
Member since: 11.07.2008, 20:25
Location: Nottingham, UK
Likes: 93

Re: SKP to MAX. cgf corrupt, but no errors when exporting.

Postby Ruan » 18.08.2012, 13:14

Yeah, your mesh has 159k vertices and that's not considering extras created by smoothing groups etc. The limit for a single mesh is 2 ^ 16 vertices, or approx 65k.

Sketchup is the poster child for how NOT to create geometry for games:

Image
Out now! CryENGINE Game Programming with C++, C#, and Lua
Ex-Crytek, now with Deep Silver Dambuster Studios


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community