Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

[RECRUITMENT] Star Wars: BattleCry for CE3

Looking for a developer to join your team, or want a place to advertise your skills? Look no further!


 

User avatar
rocknroll237
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 150
Member since: 10.08.2011, 19:10
Location: Somerset (England)
Likes: 1

[RECRUITMENT] Star Wars: BattleCry for CE3

Postby rocknroll237 » 06.05.2012, 22:22

WE ASKED THE ADMINS TO CLOSE DOWN THIS THREAD AS WE WILL HAVE A NEW METHOD OF PEOPLE CONTACTING US AND NO LONGER WANT TO MAINTAIN OUR MANY THREADS.

TO APPLY, PLEASE EMAIL THIS ADDRESS: star-wars-battlecry@googlegroups.com

PLEASE STATE YOUR SKILLS, EXPERIENCE AND LINK ANY PAST WORK. THANKS!



Official Moddb page: http://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-battlecry
Official CryDev project page: http://tinyurl.com/am74ees
Official website: http://www.swbattlecry.com


Dear fellow Star Wars fans,

As some of you may already know, our Star Wars: BattleCry game is doing extremely well and we've had a lot of support which is awesome.

Despite this, we still need more:

  • ANIMATORS AND CODERS! (VERY IMPORTANT!)
  • SKILLED ENVIRONMENTAL ARTISTS (ALSO VERY IMPORTANT!) - we want to have Hoth and a few other big maps completed by the end of next year so we need as much help as we can get!
  • Texture artists,
  • 2D artists - menu screens, HUDs, etc.

WE CURRENTLY HAVE ENOUGH 3D MODELLERS AND MUSICIANS. WE WILL LET YOU KNOW IF AND WHEN WE NEED MORE!

Requirements:

Coders: C++ and/or Lua. Exception if for example they have used C# a lot with Unity or used UnrealScript a lot).

Animators: Animating humanoids, mostly. Software: Max or Maya (for exporting))

Modellers: High/low poly modelling/sculpting, baking maps, UVing. Software: Max / Maya / Blender for exporting, package of choice for creating.

2D (HUD/menu building): Knowledge of Action Script 2 and Flash (would be good to know some Lua/C++, too).

2D other: Photoshop/Gimp.

Mappers: Used Sandbox editor before (or at least something similar, like the UDK editor).

May the force be with you... :-)

PS Have some questions that can't be answered here? Email me at rocknroll237@googlemail.com
Last edited by rocknroll237 on 02.06.2013, 21:07, edited 32 times in total.
Part of the Star Wars: BattleCry team!
http://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-battlecry


My rig:
i7 960 @ 3.2ghz, Asus Ares gpu @ stock, 6gb XMS3 DDR3 ram @ 1600mhz, Antec 1200 case, Samsung 840 256gb SSD, Asus P6X58D-E mobo
User avatar
NeoLegends
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1731
Member since: 21.10.2011, 23:50
Likes: 8

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby NeoLegends » 06.05.2012, 22:34

You mustn't import meshes from the actual game. That is forbidden. But you may make your models like the ones from SWBF2.
User avatar
rocknroll237
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 150
Member since: 10.08.2011, 19:10
Location: Somerset (England)
Likes: 1

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby rocknroll237 » 06.05.2012, 22:58

Understood. :rolleyes: In that case, development time will be longer. May I ask, what would be the penalty for importing models and using them in a mod (for free)?
Part of the Star Wars: BattleCry team!
http://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-battlecry


My rig:
i7 960 @ 3.2ghz, Asus Ares gpu @ stock, 6gb XMS3 DDR3 ram @ 1600mhz, Antec 1200 case, Samsung 840 256gb SSD, Asus P6X58D-E mobo
User avatar
axeldev
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 865
Member since: 17.12.2011, 08:44
Likes: 22

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby axeldev » 07.05.2012, 09:51

rocknroll237 wrote:Understood. :rolleyes: In that case, development time will be longer. May I ask, what would be the penalty for importing models and using them in a mod (for free)?

hmm.. jail maybe? :rolleyes: and big fee,you can import whenever you have their permission
Portfolio
"As far as assets go, your vegitation is pretty good" -Ryan Schake [Themodman101]
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 12077
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 750

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby Lavizh » 07.05.2012, 10:40

I assume Lucasarts are running the show on that game aswell. Expect a lawsuit if you take the assets without a written approval from them (which they won't give you). Don't mention the "Force" or "Forcepowers". Lucasarts will send you a cease & desist (C&D) order pretty fast if they find out.
 
 
Image
User avatar
da3dsoul
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 868
Member since: 16.06.2010, 11:41
Location: West Lafayette, Indiana
Likes: 0

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby da3dsoul » 07.05.2012, 11:13

That's kind of extreme, I'll need to bust out my Force Powers and teach them a lesson. Let's see here, Physics:ActionImpulse. Let's go.
BEWARE: Flaming aliens are generally more grumpy than normal ones.
User avatar
rocknroll237
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 150
Member since: 10.08.2011, 19:10
Location: Somerset (England)
Likes: 1

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby rocknroll237 » 07.05.2012, 12:01

Wow. Well, I'll be waiting for them... With my ATST as my getaway vehicle! No, but seriously, thanks for clearing that up guys.

I'm tempted to write an email and ask LucasArts, but I seriously doubt they'd let me get my hands on their assets!

Now... Back to business. Who is interested in the mod project?
Part of the Star Wars: BattleCry team!
http://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-battlecry


My rig:
i7 960 @ 3.2ghz, Asus Ares gpu @ stock, 6gb XMS3 DDR3 ram @ 1600mhz, Antec 1200 case, Samsung 840 256gb SSD, Asus P6X58D-E mobo
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 12077
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 750

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby Lavizh » 07.05.2012, 15:40

Put it like this, alot of people have tried getting a Star Wars game out throughout the years. Everytime they ask Lucasarts they get a no. They have a very strict policy regarding Star Wars. They will fight to the death over it ;-)
 
 
Image
User avatar
rocknroll237
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 150
Member since: 10.08.2011, 19:10
Location: Somerset (England)
Likes: 1

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby rocknroll237 » 07.05.2012, 15:47

If my mod uses completely new assets, but the characters, maps, vehicles, etc., are based on those from Star Wars would it still be forbidden? ?(
Part of the Star Wars: BattleCry team!
http://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-battlecry


My rig:
i7 960 @ 3.2ghz, Asus Ares gpu @ stock, 6gb XMS3 DDR3 ram @ 1600mhz, Antec 1200 case, Samsung 840 256gb SSD, Asus P6X58D-E mobo
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 12077
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 750

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby Lavizh » 07.05.2012, 16:22

Email Lucasarts and ask them first.
 
 
Image
User avatar
dafishanator
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 195
Member since: 19.08.2011, 05:56
Likes: 0

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby dafishanator » 11.05.2012, 05:35

Refer to this thread: viewtopic.php?f=126&t=89799
User avatar
General Kaboom
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1332
Member since: 15.01.2011, 23:00
Likes: 52

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby General Kaboom » 11.05.2012, 09:41

Battlefront assets in CryEngine??? C mon that's senseless. Why do you use one of the currently best graphical engines and then import low-quality stuff. Belive me I already played Battlefront 2. The gameplay is nice, but the quality is just bad.
Short question to dafish: You sad we aren't allowed to use known characters...so is a stormtrooper a known character from their pov? I'm just asking because a Star Wars mod without stormtroopers ö.Ö I think that's impossible ^^
"The cake is NOT a lie!"


NO support via pm!
You look funny with your head so close by the screen ^^
User avatar
dafishanator
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 195
Member since: 19.08.2011, 05:56
Likes: 0

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby dafishanator » 11.05.2012, 16:38

General Kaboom wrote:Battlefront assets in CryEngine??? C mon that's senseless. Why do you use one of the currently best graphical engines and then import low-quality stuff. Belive me I already played Battlefront 2. The gameplay is nice, but the quality is just bad.
Short question to dafish: You sad we aren't allowed to use known characters...so is a stormtrooper a known character from their pov? I'm just asking because a Star Wars mod without stormtroopers ö.Ö I think that's impossible ^^


You can use stormtroopers, sandtroopers, rebels,Jawas, or whatever you want. The key is that you can't use named characters such as Luke Skywalker, Princess Leah, Darth Vader, Yoda, etc.

The part that sucks the most to me is the force powers.... I am honestly considering starting a Star Wars project for CE3, but no force powers?? That doesn't seem Star Wars to me....
User avatar
rocknroll237
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 150
Member since: 10.08.2011, 19:10
Location: Somerset (England)
Likes: 1

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby rocknroll237 » 11.05.2012, 18:14

Ahh, thanks for the info! I can still make heroes and villains but just with different names right? So instead of Darth Vader, I could use a name like 'Dark lord of the Sith', or something like that? Also, as for the model importing, I was thinking that we could import models into a 3d editor and then use them as templates, but not actually build upon them. Is that okay?
Part of the Star Wars: BattleCry team!
http://www.moddb.com/games/star-wars-battlecry


My rig:
i7 960 @ 3.2ghz, Asus Ares gpu @ stock, 6gb XMS3 DDR3 ram @ 1600mhz, Antec 1200 case, Samsung 840 256gb SSD, Asus P6X58D-E mobo
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 12077
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 750

Re: Star Wars Battlefront 2 CryEngine 3 mod...

Postby Lavizh » 11.05.2012, 19:02

Nothing wrong with importing an Image Referance. People do that every day. But it wouldn't hurt emailing Lucasarts and simply ask them what they think about the idea. I doubt they like you making mistakes on storyline and the Star Wars timeline. You need to stay true to it.
 
 
Image


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community