Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Just getting started? Looking for some information on CE and/or CE projects? Ask here!


 

j7llewellyn
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 4
Member since: 18.10.2011, 05:54
Likes: 0

My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Postby j7llewellyn » 20.10.2011, 18:34

Hey everyone, it seems that there are allot of missing assets from my sdk. I've been following allot of tutorials on youtube and I'm noticing that I don't have some of the textures and things that people are using in their tutorial videos. Also, I can't seem to find any characters (aliens and soldiers) from the game. I tried grabbing the .pak files from Crysis 2 and dropping them into the Game folder of the sdk and that didn't seem to work either. Can anyone out there help me with this?
tetorist
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 139
Member since: 24.09.2011, 11:14
Location: Dar-es-salaam
Likes: 0

Re: My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Postby tetorist » 20.10.2011, 20:15

Crysis 2 Mod SDK
hmmmmmmmm no wait , oh no never mind
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 11976
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 743

Re: My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Postby Lavizh » 20.10.2011, 20:45

Maybe you downloaded the wrong SDK? :)
 
 
 

Image
j7llewellyn
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 4
Member since: 18.10.2011, 05:54
Likes: 0

Re: My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Postby j7llewellyn » 20.10.2011, 20:48

I downloaded the sdk from here dm_eds/download_detail.php?id=4
Is this not the right one?
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 11976
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 743

Re: My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Postby Lavizh » 20.10.2011, 20:50

That's the FreeSDK, it doesn't contain any Crysis 2 assets. The MODSDK can be found here : dm_eds/download_detail.php?id=3 Patch your game to version 1.9, install the HighResPack and install the DX11 patch (if applicable).

There are MODs to enhance the use of Crysis 2 even further, have at look at viewtopic.php?f=308&t=71027

See http://www.mycrysis.com for further information.
 
 
 

Image
j7llewellyn
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 4
Member since: 18.10.2011, 05:54
Likes: 0

Re: My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Postby j7llewellyn » 20.10.2011, 21:24

Oh awesome! Thank you. So one more question, why would you want the free sdk when there is this?
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 11976
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 743

Re: My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Postby Lavizh » 20.10.2011, 21:27

So you can build your own game from scratch and not to use Crytek assets while doing so.
You have the ability to go for a commercial or non-commercial license for it. The MODSDK does not have that.
 
 
 

Image
User avatar
the_grim
Superstar Dolphin
Superstar Dolphin
 
Posts: 9884
Member since: 16.08.2004, 10:46
Location: Finland
Likes: 189

Re: My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Postby the_grim » 20.10.2011, 21:33

Also, in the free SDK you have access to the game source code, so you can code new features to your game. This isn't possible with the Crysis 2 mod SDK.
j7llewellyn
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 4
Member since: 18.10.2011, 05:54
Likes: 0

Re: My SDK appears to be missing some assets.

Postby j7llewellyn » 20.10.2011, 21:39

I see, this is great, thanks guys for answering my Q's.


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community