Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

LOD Generator



 

User avatar Cry-Adam
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 11409
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 915

LOD Generator

Postby Cry-Adam » 10.11.2011, 14:06

Please provide any feedback/issues regarding the LOD Generator below. Steps to reproduce the issue are necessary in order to find and fix any issues.

Please keep chatter to a minimum in these threads so that it's easier for us to find important information. This first post will be kept up to date with any known issues. Any work-arounds will be posted here also.

Known Issues
  • N/A

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.
User avatar NisseDilligaf
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 15
Member since: 09.01.2013, 10:42
Likes: 1

Re: LOD Generator

Postby NisseDilligaf » 21.08.2014, 10:52

EDIT..
Sorry, I just tested this on another computer... now it works!!?
I have to see why, and if I can run this on other computers...
But I think this is a computer problem, not CryEngine/LOD Generator

again... sorry..



EDIT2:
It wasn't a hardware problem, it was a windows registry problem...

I had to change the 'Timeout Detection and Recovery (TDR)'
The time before windows thinks there is a problem with the GPU and restarts it...

Code: Select all
KeyPath   : HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\GraphicsDrivers
KeyValue  : TdrLevel
ValueType : REG_DWORD
ValueData : TdrLevelOff (0) - Detection disabled
   TdrLevelBugcheck (1) - Bug check on detected timeout, for example, no recovery.
   TdrLevelRecoverVGA (2) - Recover to VGA (not implemented).
   TdrLevelRecover (3) - Recover on timeout. This is the default value.

and
Code: Select all
KeyPath   : HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\GraphicsDrivers
KeyValue  : TdrDelay
ValueType : REG_DWORD
ValueData : Number of seconds to delay. 2 seconds is the default value.


I used
TdrLevel (0)
TdrDelay (15)


source: http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/hardware/ff569918(v=vs.85).aspx


Original Post
---------

Hi..
Hope I'm posting this at the right place :)

This is my system (from Editor.log)
http://pastebin.com/KtYCJkCp

CryEngine crashes when I'm generating textures in LOD Generator..

When making lod's for a small house (filesize 187kB)
generating textures 1024x1024 (working)
but if I go higher than that, CryEngine crashes with this error..
http://pastebin.com/9Sr1PHZt

and it seems that the bigger houses (cgf) I try to process the smaller textures I have to make to succeed.

making house with filesize 1242kB, I can't go higher than 512x512 in texture generating..

I think this error is the reason for crash, but I don't know what it means??
Code: Select all
<10:07:18> WARNING: cannot create shader 'MeshBakerFixGamma_PS' (FX: MeshBakerDilate@MeshBakerFixGamma_PS(X1))
<10:07:18> SBufferPoolImpl::Allocate: could not allocate additional bank of size 4194304


Is this a known problem with LOD Generator...?
There isn't much documentation on LOD Generator..

We have allot of houses that we need to make lod's for..
I'm making a python script so my coworkers can just drop the cgf/mtl files in a folder, and another computer on the network picks them up and generates lod's and then sends them back when ready...

Hope someone can help... Thanx!

edit:
Take the stone_toad.cgf (262 kB) as an example..
gerate lod and Geometry files
then make textures with sizes...
512x512 - working
1024x1024 - working
2048x2048 - crash!
User avatar otyascukor
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 3
Member since: 06.10.2014, 21:37
Likes: 0

Re: LOD Generator

Postby otyascukor » 01.11.2014, 12:25

short version:
problem with baking blend layer shadered model lod0 to lod01. normalmao of 2nd layer of blend layer is not in the baking process

extended version:
im using the free sdk to test what the editor and the engine knows by default
i tried to make a lod01 with the lod generator using blend layer shader on lod0 (plaster+brick on 2nd layer)
as i can see the lod generator just ignores the normalmap on the 2nd layer of blend layer shader. thats a problem because when the engine changes from lod0 to lod01 then i have a pretty big jump because of the lack of normalmap info (brick normals just disappear on lod01)

2 question: is this bug still exist in the EaaS version of the engine, and if it is, then where can i report this bug?

many thanks
otyascukor


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community