Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Graphical Artifacts



 

User avatar
Cry-Adam
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 11270
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 846

Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-Adam » 19.10.2011, 11:42

Please provide any feedback/issues regarding Graphical Artifacts below. Steps to reproduce the issue are necessary in order to find and fix any issues.

Please keep chatter to a minimum in these threads so that it's easier for us to find important information. This first post will be kept up to date with any known issues. Any work-arounds will be posted here also.

Known Issues
  • Volumetric lights don't cast shadows in first person (CE-2381).
  • POM self shadowing not working (CE-3229).
  • Terrain Shadow casting results in poor shadows (CE-3626).
hadjaramine
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 10
Member since: 19.08.2011, 14:20
Likes: 0

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby hadjaramine » 29.08.2014, 01:36

Cryengine 3.6.5 artifacts use multiGPU gtx590
User avatar
sunnlok
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
 
Posts: 804
Member since: 19.04.2009, 01:21
Location: Germany
Likes: 116

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby sunnlok » 06.09.2014, 15:53

Yup, enabling sli on 3.6.* causes artifacts and performance problems.
Seems to be a general problem with those builds since it does the same on star citizen.
User avatar
Cry-Adam
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 11270
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 846

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-Adam » 06.09.2014, 16:50

Yeah SLI/CF is unsupported at the moment but we do have some fixes for that in the coming months. This in addition to some other cool fixes and improvements that are coming from putting together Ryse PC, so we should get some additional PC love soon :)

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.
User avatar
GShot
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 581
Member since: 05.04.2010, 15:02
Location: Australia
Likes: 211

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby GShot » 26.09.2014, 22:30

Volumetric clouds (Volume Objects) have artifacts which make them basically unusable. I've recently started to work on a dynamic sky system with procedurally generated clouds for CRYENGINE which I plan to commercialise in the future (similar to trueSKY), but I was faced with some problems. I think I have a good idea of what the problem is though. It may simply be that the Jittering shader generation param of the VolumeObject shader is force-enabled by default. Changing it in the material editor has no effect at all. Interestingly, volumetric clouds worked perfectly fine in 3.5 and previously Cryengine 2 and looked absolutely beautiful/fantastic/realistic. It worked in 3.4 as well but only on High Spec. In 3.5, the volumetric cloud object even changes dynamically as if there was wind!

While playing around with the VolumeObject's shader generation params in 3.5 in the material editor, I figured out that enabling the Jittering option makes the volumetric cloud look just like it does in 3.6 (terrible) by default with the Jittering option disabled. Enabling/Disabling it has no effect on it in 3.6 so this makes me think that it is forced to be enabled by default in 3.6 which looks absolutely unusable/terrible. So I really think the problem has got to do with jittering...

3.5 VolumeObject with Jittering disabled
3_5.jpg

3.5 VolumeObject with Jittering enabled = ugly
3_5_jittering.jpg

3.6 VolumeObject - enabling or disabling Jittering has no effect = ugly
3_6.jpg

I've tested the performance impact of volumetric clouds with my sky system by generating 10,000 procedural/randomised volumetric clouds covering hundreds of kilometres in CRYENGINE. Having THOUSANDS of actual volumetric clouds has little impact on performance (depends on ViewDistRatio and a few other settings in my sky system)! NO ONE's probably tried this in CRYENGINE until this day with volumetric clouds (except for Crytek). Say no more to static skyboxes :P I'll soon make a thread about this where it belongs. Please fix the volumetric clouds Adam/Crytek. I will love you forever (in a friendly way) :cheesy: It really shouldn't be a big task, you've had the technology for almost a decade now :P. I wish I could do it myself but I don't have the required access :) Or in official words: I hereby request Crytek to fix volumetric clouds in CRYENGINE.

I would use 3.5 but I can't and my sky system wouldn't work and there would be no point. With 3.6 we have access to the entity system which I've modified to allow me to load actual volumetric clouds from gameDLL so I'm basically stuck right now.

There is more that needs fixing (related to Material Editor and Time Of Day) which are crucial in making the clouds look good (which worked in 3.5) but I'll post them where they belong. I can't emphasise enough how important it is to have all of these settings working together to render some realistic clouds. It is evident in the screenshots above. Thanks!

Btw, that trueSKY plug-in for UE4 made me laugh when I saw one of it's features. It said "Clouds you can fly through". I thought to my self "Well CRYENGINE has had that for almost a DECADE now" :p
manran
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 75
Member since: 30.01.2014, 11:00
Location: Madagascar
Likes: 9

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby manran » 01.10.2014, 13:58

Hello
With the spec high the texture is fine.
When i turn the spec to very high i get those red ugly colors. Is it a bug ?
It's like that the texture has been doubled one normal and a new one red
2.6.7 and now 2.6.8
[img]veryhighspecerror.png[/img]
Attachments
veryhighspecerror.png
Last edited by manran on 07.10.2014, 05:39, edited 1 time in total.
Not a programmer just wants to become a cinematic artist
Demo ( more are coming soon if...)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOJAffW ... e=youtu.be
Sound Designer and Game Music Composer demo
https://soundcloud.com/ilema/feo-game-by-i-lema
User avatar
SvalinnAsgard
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 206
Member since: 18.08.2011, 03:12
Location: United States
Likes: 21

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby SvalinnAsgard » 05.10.2014, 23:13

Cry-Adam wrote:This in addition to some other cool fixes and improvements that are coming from putting together Ryse PC, so we should get some additional PC love soon :)


Glad to hear the Ryse fixes are going to be brought to the EaaS build. Please, as a part of giving the PC some additional love, fix tessellation: viewtopic.php?p=1239605#p1239605

Thanks Crytek.
User avatar
GShot
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 581
Member since: 05.04.2010, 15:02
Location: Australia
Likes: 211

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby GShot » 06.10.2014, 21:33

You can ignore my post about the Volumetric clouds artifact Crytek :) After a few days of messing around, I was able to fix the jittering problem by figuring out which texture the VolumeObject Shader was using for the jittering effect through the shader binary files. It was the vector_noise.dds in engine\engineassets\textures and editing that in Photoshop to a flat colour and then replacing the original one did the trick :)! Volumetric clouds now render PERFECTLY fine in CRYENGINE 3.6 (except the Diffuse Colour not working...)

I was able to do this without access to shader source code and it was such an easy (but smart :p ) fix (even though it took some time to figure out). I thought I was going to have to wait 1-2 years for Crytek to fix this but I refused to do so. It would probably take someone from Crytek with some decent knowledge of the engine 2 minutes to fix this... I understand it's not at the top of the priority list but I mean it doesn't take days or weeks it literally takes 2 minutes... but sometimes we have to wait 2 years for that 2 minute fix. No hard feelings but that's just the truth.

Thanks anyway Crytek :happy: I still love you!
hhildebr
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 303
Member since: 28.08.2012, 23:09
Location: Berlin, Germany
Likes: 90

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby hhildebr » 06.10.2014, 21:37

@manran: This is looking like the standard "Replace me" texture when a texture is missing or couldn't be coverted by the RC.
User avatar
Cry-Adam
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 11270
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 846

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-Adam » 06.10.2014, 23:14

@GShot, be interested to see your before/afters (of both the results and the texture change) in a new thread if you'd be so kind :)

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.
User avatar
GShot
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 581
Member since: 05.04.2010, 15:02
Location: Australia
Likes: 211

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby GShot » 07.10.2014, 06:46

Sure! Here you go viewtopic.php?f=355&t=126779 :) I'll also make a thread about my sky system soon.
User avatar
jigglytoes
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 130
Member since: 02.03.2014, 10:50
Likes: 16

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby jigglytoes » 23.10.2014, 08:04

The player's shadow is broken in 3.6.9 - see the screenshot attached. Looks like maybe the recent facial animation/rig changes are causing this?

I changed TOD settings in the Airfield map and saw this as the sun passed overhead.
Attachments
ScreenShot0003.jpg
User avatar
TrustyJam
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 56
Member since: 20.08.2011, 23:29
Likes: 12

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby TrustyJam » 15.11.2014, 19:56

The cvar Deferredshadingtiled=2 seems to be broken in 3.6.11. It used to be the default (now it's Deferredshadingtiled=1) back when EaaS launched, and we've been using it ever since mainly to get better shadow results.

How it is right now:

3.6.11 Deferredshadingtiled=2: Image

3.6.11 Deferredshadingtiled=1: Image

What is used to be:

3.6.9 Deferredshadingtiled=2: Image

- Trusty
Cry-David
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 91
Member since: 09.11.2011, 13:20
Likes: 18

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-David » 17.11.2014, 11:20

TrustyJam wrote:The cvar Deferredshadingtiled=2 seems to be broken in 3.6.11. It used to be the default (now it's Deferredshadingtiled=1) back when EaaS launched, and we've been using it ever since mainly to get better shadow results.

- Trusty


Hi Trusty,

We are aware of this issue and are working on it :)
User avatar
SvalinnAsgard
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 206
Member since: 18.08.2011, 03:12
Location: United States
Likes: 21

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby SvalinnAsgard » 28.11.2014, 08:41

Tessellation issue detailed here: http://www.crydev.net/viewtopic.php?p=1239605#p1239605
Is still present in 3.6.11


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community