Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Graphical Artifacts



 

User avatar Cry-Adam
CRYENGINE Developer
CRYENGINE Developer
 
Posts: 11655
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 1005

Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-Adam » 19.10.2011, 11:42

Please provide any feedback/issues regarding Graphical Artifacts below. Steps to reproduce the issue are necessary in order to find and fix any issues.

Please keep chatter to a minimum in these threads so that it's easier for us to find important information. This first post will be kept up to date with any known issues. Any work-arounds will be posted here also.

Known Issues
  • Volumetric lights don't cast shadows in first person (CE-2381).
  • POM self shadowing not working (CE-3229).
  • Terrain Shadow casting results in poor shadows (CE-3626).
User avatar Fabriciuz
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 364
Images: 7
Member since: 28.12.2012, 02:51
Likes: 17

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Fabriciuz » 28.04.2015, 21:03

I have found 2 issues with the shadows.

1st issue is the the shadow cascades being weird in 3.7. I attached a couple of pics, 1 from 3.7 and 1 from 3.6.17. In both pics i use the same cascades values in the TOD.

2nd issue was also an issue in 3.6.17 and i also reported it, but it never seemed to get ticketed. The issue is shadows behaving weird when being casted far, here's a video of a building i made there's about 300 metres tall in-engine, where the weird shadows are being demonstrated: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Btv1jF8kk8s

Sorry for the many edits, had some issues with attaching the pics.
Attachments
Editor 2015-03-14 01-53-46-488.jpg
gra.png
User avatar unknownzero3
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 51
Member since: 04.04.2014, 19:59
Location: Instruction heading for retirement unit
Likes: 3

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby unknownzero3 » 29.04.2015, 00:50

Fabriciuz wrote:I have found 2 issues with the shadows.

1st issue is the the shadow cascades being weird in 3.7. I attached a couple of pics, 1 from 3.7 and 1 from 3.6.17. In both pics i use the same cascades values in the TOD.

2nd issue was also an issue in 3.6.17 and i also reported it, but it never seemed to get ticketed. The issue is shadows behaving weird when being casted far, here's a video of a building i made there's about 300 metres tall in-engine, where the weird shadows are being demonstrated: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Btv1jF8kk8s

Sorry for the many edits, had some issues with attaching the pics.

Try setting your envirorment ShadowClipPlaneRange to a high value like 2000 . This should fix the issue with the far-near shadow clipping.
That or try tweaking your gsm_range or gsmrangestep values.

This actually fixes the problems with other shadow issues as well tweak the clipplane accordingly.


Try r_ShadowGenDepthClip = 0 instead
Last edited by unknownzero3 on 04.05.2015, 21:06, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar Cry-Adam
CRYENGINE Developer
CRYENGINE Developer
 
Posts: 11655
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 1005

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-Adam » 29.04.2015, 12:21

What is the ClipRange value set to in your level in that video?

Also, if you can show with e_shadowsCascadesDebug=1 that will help.

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.
User avatar FancySweetroll
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 183
Member since: 20.08.2011, 23:30
Location: Denmark
Likes: 38

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby FancySweetroll » 29.04.2015, 18:40

New antialiasing mode r_AntialiasingMode=3 causes flickering on thin lines in the distance

Image
Image
User avatar Cry-Adam
CRYENGINE Developer
CRYENGINE Developer
 
Posts: 11655
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 1005

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-Adam » 29.04.2015, 18:47

I think setting r_AntialiasingTAAPattern to 0 might help, but it appears to be resolved in next build.

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.
User avatar FancySweetroll
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 183
Member since: 20.08.2011, 23:30
Location: Denmark
Likes: 38

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby FancySweetroll » 29.04.2015, 19:23

I already tried setting that one to 0, unfortunately, doing that almost removes the otherwise pretty nice effect of the new AA. But I'll be looking forward to the next update :)
Image
User avatar abundantcores
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 07.05.2014, 04:54
Likes: 5

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby abundantcores » 01.05.2015, 05:40

I get an issue where moving around sometimes the light disappears, its rare and when it happens its very fast, like a flicker of darkness. its difficult to explain, i will try to record it.
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
FX-9590 @ 4.8Ghz
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290 @ 1125/1450
Samsung 830 SSD.
XFX 750 Watt
HAF 912+
User avatar Fabriciuz
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 364
Images: 7
Member since: 28.12.2012, 02:51
Likes: 17

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Fabriciuz » 01.05.2015, 11:32

I've fixed both issues thanks to you guys!

Cry-Adam wrote:What is the ClipRange value set to in your level in that video?


If you're talking about the SunShadowsClipPlaneRange, it was at the default 2000. But setting it to 1000 apparently fixed the issue in the video.

For the cascades, setting the "e_ShadowsConstBias=0.25" worked great. But when settomg the SunShadowsClipPlaneRange to 1000, i had to set it even lower. So i've set it to 0.01, and with a bit of editing in the TOD all cascades looks great now at all distances!

Thanks unknownzero3 and Cry-Adam!
User avatar Cry-Adam
CRYENGINE Developer
CRYENGINE Developer
 
Posts: 11655
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 1005

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-Adam » 01.05.2015, 15:25

I think default is 256, not 2000.

@abundant, how many shadow casting lights on screen? You should receive a warning if there's too many.

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.
User avatar Fabriciuz
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 364
Images: 7
Member since: 28.12.2012, 02:51
Likes: 17

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Fabriciuz » 01.05.2015, 16:29

Cry-Adam wrote:I think default is 256, not 2000.


That would definitely make more sense, it's probably just me getting confused about all these values.
User avatar game_master_jodan
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 602
Member since: 08.09.2004, 00:14
Location: netherlands
Likes: 78

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby game_master_jodan » 01.05.2015, 17:36

Fabriciuz wrote:
Cry-Adam wrote:I think default is 256, not 2000.


That would definitely make more sense, it's probably just me getting confused about all these values.


no... it is not just you :)
User avatar unknownzero3
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 51
Member since: 04.04.2014, 19:59
Location: Instruction heading for retirement unit
Likes: 3

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby unknownzero3 » 01.05.2015, 18:26

I adjust mine that high because of my gsm_range values. If you modify this the clipvalue must be adjusted in conjunction with the clipplane.


I did find something rather odd about your cascades when put in minimal settings... Take a close look at cascade1 with default options and toning the range down.


Image
Debug textures for global shadow map cascades
Image
Boundbox for global shadow map cascades with frozen camera.

Fixed in 3.7.0
Last edited by unknownzero3 on 04.05.2015, 21:06, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar abundantcores
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 07.05.2014, 04:54
Likes: 5

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby abundantcores » 02.05.2015, 02:35

Cry-Adam wrote:I think default is 256, not 2000.

@abundant, how many shadow casting lights on screen? You should receive a warning if there's too many.


On Screen? maybe two, sometimes none. i don't get any warnings and in that sense me map hasn't change since pre- 3.7, its only after the update that its doing this.

I'll get a video up tomorrow.
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
FX-9590 @ 4.8Ghz
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290 @ 1125/1450
Samsung 830 SSD.
XFX 750 Watt
HAF 912+
User avatar abundantcores
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 07.05.2014, 04:54
Likes: 5

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby abundantcores » 02.05.2015, 16:27

This is what its doing, it looks its flicking between night and day time, sometimes i'm able to hold the dark frame which is why i was able to take these screen shots.

A strange one.

Image
Image
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
FX-9590 @ 4.8Ghz
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290 @ 1125/1450
Samsung 830 SSD.
XFX 750 Watt
HAF 912+


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community