Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Graphical Artifacts



 

User avatar game_master_jodan
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 617
Member since: 08.09.2004, 00:14
Location: netherlands
Likes: 78

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby game_master_jodan » 02.05.2015, 23:27

abundantcores wrote:This is what its doing, it looks its flicking between night and day time, sometimes i'm able to hold the dark frame which is why i was able to take these screen shots.

A strange one.

Image
Image



Have you tryed disabling the particles, I had this flickering problem when particles were spawned.
User avatar Fabriciuz
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 364
Images: 7
Member since: 28.12.2012, 02:51
Likes: 17

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Fabriciuz » 03.05.2015, 12:24

I have this really weird bug with texture tiling. Everything was fine, but when i re-exported my texture, i get these weird lines on the tiles, see attached pics.

Editor 2015-05-03 12-16-58-434.jpg
Here's the weird lines


Editor 2015-05-03 12-17-51-795.jpg
They dissapear when very close apparently


bandicam 2015-05-03 12-18-55-284.jpg
Here i tried turning off "IsTileU" and "IsTileV", then it works but i get a more yellowish color for some reason (same color as those lines)
User avatar unknownzero3
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 51
Member since: 04.04.2014, 19:59
Location: Instruction heading for retirement unit
Likes: 3

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby unknownzero3 » 04.05.2015, 18:41

Apoligies Alex, I had the old version (3.6.17) installed on my workstation, disregard my bug report on shadows looks like everything was fixed when you guys fixed the shadowgen clipvolumes and the weird frustrums.

Also I solved my other shadow issues. Seems a lot of us were compensating for broken shadows, and everyone's going to have to tweak their settings again.

I simply set my r_shadowgendepthclip to 0 and set everything else back to normal (scene specific) or defaults which fixed almost everything that clipped shadows pre-emptively.

Do not do this on Tiled Forward Shading







I do still see a small issue on small objects with long shadow casts, the only way I was able to extend shadows beyond these planes was amping up gsm ranges or making sure the object had a larger than normal bounding box.
Image
Image
Image

Also water shader seems a bit broken this past patch, ticking waterflow maps causes this error.

[Error] F:\steam\steamapps\common\CRYENGINE\Watervolume@WaterCausticPS(4)(X1)(72,102): error X3000: syntax error: unexpected token ')'
[Warning] Couldn't compile HW shader 'Watervolume@WaterCausticPS(4)(X1)'

r_WaterCausticsDeferred to 1 stops the errors.
This did work in the 3.6.17

Also seeing some weird issues with fog shadowing in water volumes. Seems to be related to the old frustrum issue and clipping.

Image
Image
Last edited by unknownzero3 on 21.05.2015, 18:33, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar KPy3O
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 1
Member since: 31.07.2013, 11:41
Likes: 0

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby KPy3O » 19.05.2015, 02:06

abundantcores wrote:This is what its doing, it looks its flicking between night and day time, sometimes i'm able to hold the dark frame which is why i was able to take these screen shots.


Try to enter in the console r_DeferredShadingTiled 1
User avatar abundantcores
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 07.05.2014, 04:54
Likes: 5

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby abundantcores » 20.05.2015, 05:15

Cry-Adam wrote:I think default is 256, not 2000.

@abundant, how many shadow casting lights on screen? You should receive a warning if there's too many.

I think this was the problem

I did have about 200 lights on the map, i reduced it significantly and its no longer doing that going dark thing.
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
FX-9590 @ 4.8Ghz
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290 @ 1125/1450
Samsung 830 SSD.
XFX 750 Watt
HAF 912+
User avatar unknownzero3
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 51
Member since: 04.04.2014, 19:59
Location: Instruction heading for retirement unit
Likes: 3

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby unknownzero3 » 23.05.2015, 21:17

abundantcores wrote:This is what its doing, it looks its flicking between night and day time, sometimes i'm able to hold the dark frame which is why i was able to take these screen shots.

A strange one.

Image
Image


I believe planar lights aren't supported with deferred forward tiled shading.
Also can you post your log files as well?
User avatar DGrimProductions
Executive Producer
Executive Producer
 
Posts: 3454
Member since: 27.03.2013, 15:12
Location: The netherlands
Likes: 315

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby DGrimProductions » 23.05.2015, 21:55

I had this issue aswell with all lights going dark.
Only had 64 all casting shadows. Yet once i had them set to none they worked properly again.
★★★★ General (seriously i talk to much)
I am an uncle :) going to be a dad soon :D
User avatar abundantcores
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 07.05.2014, 04:54
Likes: 5

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby abundantcores » 24.05.2015, 03:12

unknownzero3 wrote:
abundantcores wrote:This is what its doing, it looks its flicking between night and day time, sometimes i'm able to hold the dark frame which is why i was able to take these screen shots.

A strange one.

Image
Image


I believe planar lights aren't supported with deferred forward tiled shading.
Also can you post your log files as well?
i don't have them for that, i unistalled and reinstalled since then.
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
FX-9590 @ 4.8Ghz
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290 @ 1125/1450
Samsung 830 SSD.
XFX 750 Watt
HAF 912+
User avatar unknownzero3
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 51
Member since: 04.04.2014, 19:59
Location: Instruction heading for retirement unit
Likes: 3

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby unknownzero3 » 24.05.2015, 07:34

Also noticed an issue with sorting and glow surfaces, rain entities, against the glass shader.

Alphatest breaks glow effects and rain still renders first on glass.
User avatar Cry-Adam
CRYENGINE Developer
CRYENGINE Developer
 
Posts: 11661
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 1006

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-Adam » 24.05.2015, 13:14

unknownzero3 wrote:I believe planar lights aren't supported with deferred forward tiled shading.

http://docs.cryengine.com/display/SDKDO ... t+Entities

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.
User avatar unknownzero3
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 51
Member since: 04.04.2014, 19:59
Location: Instruction heading for retirement unit
Likes: 3

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby unknownzero3 » 24.05.2015, 17:14

Cry-Adam wrote:
unknownzero3 wrote:I believe planar lights aren't supported with deferred forward tiled shading.

http://docs.cryengine.com/display/SDKDO ... t+Entities


"r_ShadowCastingLightsMaxCount" doesn't exist anymore
User avatar abundantcores
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 07.05.2014, 04:54
Likes: 5

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby abundantcores » 24.05.2015, 17:20

If Planer lights don't work in 3.7 use this code
Code: Select all
r_deferredShadingAreaLights = 1


Image
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
FX-9590 @ 4.8Ghz
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290 @ 1125/1450
Samsung 830 SSD.
XFX 750 Watt
HAF 912+
User avatar chroman
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 73
Member since: 12.12.2013, 00:28
Likes: 37

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby chroman » 24.05.2015, 17:25

My problem is that custom vegetation is motion blurred constantly. This happened after the newest update to 3.7.0. Everything worked fine before this.

Image
User avatar abundantcores
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 07.05.2014, 04:54
Likes: 5

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby abundantcores » 24.05.2015, 17:39

chroman wrote:My problem is that custom vegetation is motion blurred constantly. This happened after the newest update to 3.7.0. Everything worked fine before this.

Image


Is that Custom Grass? i don't get that blurring, you have a lot of Pollys and Draw Calls and your FPS reflect that.

I have Custom Grass running here, its just a test, like most things i'm doing at the moment, i could paint a lot more in to get the DP and Pollys as high as yours to see if it blurs, if you want?

For now, shot in the dark, try this code
Code: Select all
r_MotionBlur = 0


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kclvk_VnZKA

[youtube]watch?v=kclvk_VnZKA[/youtube]

Why does the Youtube hocking not work on this forum^^^????
Asus Sabertooth 990FX
FX-9590 @ 4.8Ghz
Powercolor PCS+ R9 290 @ 1125/1450
Samsung 830 SSD.
XFX 750 Watt
HAF 912+
User avatar Cry-Adam
CRYENGINE Developer
CRYENGINE Developer
 
Posts: 11661
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 1006

Re: Graphical Artifacts

Postby Cry-Adam » 24.05.2015, 18:13

chroman wrote:My problem is that custom vegetation is motion blurred constantly. This happened after the newest update to 3.7.0. Everything worked fine before this.

Image

Probably automerged is activated but the asset isn't setup for it.

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community