Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Making a UI

If you're looking for help with Scaleform, HUD development, UI Emulator/Actions, this is the place!


 

drowelf23
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 7
Member since: 30.10.2011, 21:51
Likes: 0

Making a UI

Postby drowelf23 » 09.12.2011, 00:49

Since scaleform currently doesn't work :whatever: is there any way to make a UI without it?
User avatar
Sieabah
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 644
Member since: 26.08.2011, 08:39
Location: Internet
Likes: 4

Re: Making a UI

Postby Sieabah » 09.12.2011, 00:54

Nope.
A signature used to exist here.
stresswire
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 66
Member since: 21.07.2011, 02:00
Likes: 0

Re: Making a UI

Postby stresswire » 09.12.2011, 02:10

Sieabah wrote:Nope.


I thought you could use the BitmapUI...
User avatar
Sieabah
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 644
Member since: 26.08.2011, 08:39
Location: Internet
Likes: 4

Re: Making a UI

Postby Sieabah » 09.12.2011, 04:54

stresswire wrote:
Sieabah wrote:Nope.


I thought you could use the BitmapUI...


http://www.crymod.com/viewtopic.php?f=314&t=75987
A signature used to exist here.
User avatar
modsuki
Has seen it all
Has seen it all
 
Posts: 5227
Member since: 02.02.2007, 07:25
Likes: 258

Re: Making a UI

Postby modsuki » 09.12.2011, 05:15

I think we can create UI with flash...
My Crytek News Blog - http://bit.ly/aFSbnP
My Massive Crysis Maps Guide - http://bit.ly/f5ifhe
My CryEngine Screens - http://bit.ly/wIDNDJ
My Youtube - http://bit.ly/xIg1l1
My Twitter - http://bit.ly/yZtaoH0
User avatar
Sieabah
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 644
Member since: 26.08.2011, 08:39
Location: Internet
Likes: 4

Re: Making a UI

Postby Sieabah » 09.12.2011, 06:56

modsuki wrote:I think we can create UI with flash...


Scaleform is what allows you to use flash.
A signature used to exist here.
Benji385
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 528
Member since: 16.03.2011, 05:55
Location: Utah, USA
Likes: 29

Re: Making a UI

Postby Benji385 » 10.12.2011, 00:15

So basically from what i am reading - Until Crytek implements scale form no UI/HUD?

or have I mis read?
User avatar
Zeph
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1296
Member since: 07.11.2007, 18:21
Likes: 74

Re: Making a UI

Postby Zeph » 10.12.2011, 00:40

Sieabah wrote:
modsuki wrote:I think we can create UI with flash...


Scaleform is what allows you to use flash.

Deny. Scaleform is what converts and event handles flash sources to something the GPU can more easily work with.

The source to interact directly with flash assets is available.
User avatar
hendrik
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1328
Member since: 29.05.2010, 11:46
Location: Germany
Likes: 163

Re: Making a UI

Postby hendrik » 10.12.2011, 23:49

Zeph wrote:
Sieabah wrote:
modsuki wrote:I think we can create UI with flash...


Scaleform is what allows you to use flash.

Deny. Scaleform is what converts and event handles flash sources to something the GPU can more easily work with.

The source to interact directly with flash assets is available.

nope
User avatar
modsuki
Has seen it all
Has seen it all
 
Posts: 5227
Member since: 02.02.2007, 07:25
Likes: 258

Re: Making a UI

Postby modsuki » 11.12.2011, 00:28

I saw a tutorial of displaying flash in somewhere.
My Crytek News Blog - http://bit.ly/aFSbnP
My Massive Crysis Maps Guide - http://bit.ly/f5ifhe
My CryEngine Screens - http://bit.ly/wIDNDJ
My Youtube - http://bit.ly/xIg1l1
My Twitter - http://bit.ly/yZtaoH0
User avatar
Sieabah
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 644
Member since: 26.08.2011, 08:39
Location: Internet
Likes: 4

Re: Making a UI

Postby Sieabah » 11.12.2011, 09:12

modsuki wrote:I saw a tutorial of displaying flash in somewhere.


It was probably for the Crysis 2 Mod SDK.
A signature used to exist here.
User avatar
DURLI
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 545
Member since: 21.10.2009, 19:52
Location: Slovakia, EU
Likes: 6

Re: Making a UI

Postby DURLI » 11.12.2011, 11:24

Zeph wrote:
The source to interact directly with flash assets is available.


What ? can you explain details please ?
User avatar
ins
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1164
Member since: 28.11.2007, 19:14
Location: Belgium
Likes: 0

Re: Making a UI

Postby ins » 11.12.2011, 11:32

There are other options such as Awesomium which you can use, if you need a UI solution right now. It's not terribly hard to get it working in the engine

Image
User avatar
the_grim
Superstar Dolphin
Superstar Dolphin
 
Posts: 9884
Member since: 16.08.2004, 10:46
Location: Finland
Likes: 189

Re: Making a UI

Postby the_grim » 11.12.2011, 11:36

You can try implementing Flash assets, only to find that they don't load in the engine. The current Scaleform DLL is a dummy, and without it you can't load Flash assets at all.

Currently Crytek is waiting for a greenlight from Autodesk for using Scaleform. As soon as that arrives, it will be unlocked in the next CDK update.
User avatar
hendrik
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1328
Member since: 29.05.2010, 11:46
Location: Germany
Likes: 163

Re: Making a UI

Postby hendrik » 12.12.2011, 22:13

ins wrote:There are other options such as Awesomium which you can use, if you need a UI solution right now. It's not terribly hard to get it working in the engine

Image


that might even be the better solutions since everyone is moving to HTML5, flash pretty much sucks anyways.


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community