Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

If you're looking for help with Scaleform, HUD development, UI Emulator/Actions, this is the place!


 

silver007-001
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 3
Member since: 06.08.2012, 13:15
Likes: 0

UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

Postby silver007-001 » 06.08.2012, 13:25

Hello!

I am creating a simple Flash menu with input text fields. I set all input parameters in UI node "UI:Display:Config", but still my text field input only catches Enter, backspace, del, tab, but not letter or number keys. I've tried everything, even made a key listener, and it proved me that Scaleform inside engine somehow doesn't let me catch an input.

Somehow, inside a main menu, when connecting to server, text fields are working properly.

P.S. Outside the engine, in flash player, everything works fine.
silver007-001
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 3
Member since: 06.08.2012, 13:15
Likes: 0

Re: UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

Postby silver007-001 » 06.08.2012, 18:31

Please, somebody, help.
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 11981
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 744

Re: UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

Postby Lavizh » 06.08.2012, 19:09

Please allow 24 hours before bumping your own thread.
 
 
 

Image
User avatar
DURLI
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 545
Member since: 21.10.2009, 19:52
Location: Slovakia, EU
Likes: 6

Re: UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

Postby DURLI » 11.08.2012, 00:35

Did you allowed a keyevents in uielement? Also did u embedded a font in your text input field?
Image
C++ || C# || 3D Artist || 2D Artist || UI Artist || Animator
PaulReindell
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 8
Member since: 04.11.2010, 11:34
Likes: 5

Re: UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

Postby PaulReindell » 17.09.2012, 12:10

There is some additional thing you have to do in actionscript: on textfiled selection you have to explicit call in your AS:

Selection.setFocus(_root.path.to.your.textfiledMC);

e.g. in your onRollOver function

Cheers
Graph
Executive Producer
Executive Producer
 
Posts: 3023
Member since: 23.03.2007, 14:08
Likes: 21

Re: UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

Postby Graph » 17.09.2012, 13:49

Image
thx
User avatar
jlea
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 204
Member since: 20.08.2011, 05:40
Likes: 6

Re: UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

Postby jlea » 18.09.2012, 05:36

Cry-Paul wrote:There is some additional thing you have to do in actionscript: on textfiled selection you have to explicit call in your AS:

Selection.setFocus(_root.path.to.your.textfiledMC);

e.g. in your onRollOver function

Cheers


I have a flowgraph that calls a function in AS, which makes my text input visible and sets focus to the text field. Everything else in the function works but the snippet above does not. I still have to manually click my text input field to get it to start retrieving input. Any ideas?

Do i set focus to the movieclip holding my textinput, or to the textinput itself.
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 11981
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 744

Re: UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

Postby Lavizh » 18.09.2012, 18:17

Use the textfield Movie Clip as described in Paul's post.
 
 
 

Image
Floady
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 25
Member since: 12.01.2012, 22:15
Likes: 2

Re: UI Input doesn't work with Text Fields

Postby Floady » 19.09.2012, 16:05

Also make sure you check in Launcher and Editor, ive seen it before that text doesnt show up in the editor but it does in the launcher.


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community