Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Natural Mod for Crysis

Use this section to show off your CE2 modifications


 

User avatar
Traitorsgate
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 13
Member since: 31.12.2007, 06:23
Location: Australia
Likes: 0

Postby Traitorsgate » 07.01.2008, 06:26

Just ran Taowolf's settings in Crysis Vanilla and I got worse FPS than what I get with the Natural Mod v1.1, go figure. Taowolf's HDR effects would look more at home with a game like COD 4 or S.T.A.L.K.E.R., in Crysis it looks almost psychedelic compared to the Natural Mod, which of course may well appeal to some, 'horses for courses' is what it boils down to in the end.
Seraphiel
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 4
Member since: 07.01.2008, 08:45
Likes: 0

Postby Seraphiel » 07.01.2008, 09:03

Last edited by Seraphiel on 07.01.2008, 09:04, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
GODzilla
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 01.01.2008, 22:53
Location: Germany
Likes: 0

Postby GODzilla » 07.01.2008, 13:45

General request: CHANGE YOUR AVATARS! You all look the same. :D :tongue:
GODzillaâ„¢
User avatar
Dark shadow
Executive Producer
Executive Producer
 
Posts: 4907
Member since: 22.11.2007, 17:08
Location: Switzerland
Likes: 0

Postby Dark shadow » 07.01.2008, 14:14

OT: I have a different avatar, are you happy? Son you can recognize me :D
anyway I see that a lot of people are complaining (like me) an excessive amount of fog, mayb you could release two version of the tod, one with less fog? ;)
-> SQUAD COMMANDER - a complete squad at your commands - go wherever you want / do whatever you want
----------
-> MAXIMUM CHALLENGE - a complete SP modification - the real hard campaign / more enemies / more action
----------
-> TANA's: Tactical Alien Nanosuit Attachments - Alien nanosuit attachments to expand and increase your abilities
----------
-> AGILITY FLOWGRAPH - Do amazing wall runs and jumps, grab edges and climb and jump everywhere. Have fun!
User avatar
pydon
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 138
Member since: 22.12.2007, 18:13
Location: Switzerland
Likes: 0

Postby pydon » 07.01.2008, 14:56

For now, most of the comments I have read on different forums are very positive with the actual render. I don't think I will release a new version to satisfy a minority of people. As far as I know, discontent people are always the most vocal. :tongue:


@Seraphiel, nice screenshots, but maybe a bit too much HDR.

edit: could you share your system.cfg? I'd like to try with this kind of render. ;)
Last edited by pydon on 07.01.2008, 16:57, edited 1 time in total.
extraterrestrial
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 27
Member since: 01.01.2008, 18:19
Location: Gießen, Germany
Likes: 0

Postby extraterrestrial » 07.01.2008, 15:28

I mixed up some words. The fog doesn't disturb me, but the "vapor" could be less used. But maybe i get accustomed to it by time.

€: And one thing: I think you could use more orange in the rising sun, its totally white now.
Last edited by extraterrestrial on 07.01.2008, 15:30, edited 1 time in total.
nonolapin
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 6
Member since: 07.01.2008, 15:09
Likes: 0

Postby nonolapin » 07.01.2008, 15:47

Hello,

like I said on crysis-france, very good work! :))


I took some screenshots on Exodus and Ascension, I really feel the vapor and I like the fog, it is very realist on those maps.

ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage
ImageImageImage


There is other screeshots here for the 3 first missions. Maybe it could have more fog. :D
Lachnummer
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 1
Member since: 08.01.2008, 01:01
Likes: 0

Shell-Script to apply natural.mod tod.files

Postby Lachnummer » 08.01.2008, 01:22

Code: Select all
#!/bin/sh
# Applies the Natural Mod TOD files to a Crysis installation.

# Usage: o Save this to crysis-tod-mod.sh
# o Ensure that the requirements of this script are met (see below).
# o !!! Back up your Crysis/Games/Levels directory!!!
# o Unpack the natural.mod tod.files archive.
# o Configure the three variables below.
# o Run this command: sh crysis-tod-mod.sh

# Requires these to work:
# About 500 MB of space in the Crysis installation volume,
# as it keeps the original .pak file as .pak.ori,
# the unpacked pydon.natural.mod.v.1.0.tod.files,
# 7-Zip (7z), and a Posix environment such as Cygwin.  From the latter,
# it requires a shell, fileutils (rm, mv, ls, cp, cat), and perl.

# Configure these:

# Crysis Levels dir
levels_dir="/cygdrive/c/Program Files/Electronic Arts/Crytek/Crysis/Game/Levels";

# The natural Mod's .tod files must have been unpacked here:
tod_dir="/cygdrive/d/crysis/pydon.natural.mod.v.1.0.tod.files/tod";

# 7-Zip executable path
zip="/cygdrive/c/Program Files/7-Zip/7z"

# --------------------------------------------------------------------
# There should be no need to change anything below

set -u; # Treat undefined variables as errors
set -e; # Stop on error

set_x=":";
# To debug, uncomment this line:
#set_x="set -x";
$set_x

note() { echo "$0: ${@-}" >&2; }
die() { note "Fatal: $*"; exit 1; }

level_handle()
{
    $set_x
    set -e;
    level="$1"; shift;
    echo "level: $level";
    mission0="mission_mission0.xml";

    tod="$tod_dir/$level.tod";
    if [ ! -f "$tod" ]; then
        note "No .tod file found for level '$level', leaving it alone.";
        return 0;
    fi;
    cd "$level";

    pak="level.pak";
    ori="$pak.ori";
    if [ -f "$ori" ]; then
        note "Restoring '$pak' from '$ori' first...";
        cp -p "$ori" "$pak";
    fi;
    ls -l "$pak";
    #"$zip" l -tzip "$pak";

    note "Extracting original file from archive...";
    [ ! -f "$mission0" ] || die "$mission0 exists";
    "$zip" e -tzip "$pak" "$mission0";
    ls -l "$mission0";

    note "Modifying file '$mission0'...";
    perl < "$mission0" > "$mission0.before-tod" -w -p -e '
     $debug=0; $debug && print(STDERR "BEFORE: ", $_);
     if (m+<TimeOfDay+o) { $_=""; last; }';
    perl < "$mission0" > "$mission0.after-tod" -w -p -e '
     BEGIN { $debug= 0; $after= 0; }
     if (m+</TimeOfDay+o) { $after=1; $_=""; next; }
     if (0==$after) { $_= ""; next; }
     $debug && print(STDERR "AFTER: ", $_); ';
    #mv "$mission0" "$mission0.ori";
    rm "$mission0";
    cat > "$mission0" "$mission0.before-tod" "$tod" "$mission0.after-tod";
    rm "$mission0.before-tod" "$mission0.after-tod";

    note "Putting modified file in archive...";
    modded="Level.tod-modded.pak";
    [ -f "$modded" ] && rm "$modded";
    [ -f "$modded" ] && ls -l "$modded" && die "Could not remove $modded (file in use?)";
    "$zip" u -tzip "$pak" -u- -u!"$modded" "$mission0";
    #mv "$mission0" "$mission0.tod-modded";
    rm "$mission0";
    mv "$pak" "$ori";
    mv "$modded" "$pak";
    ls -l "$pak";
    cd ..;
}

main()
{
    cd "$levels_dir";
    levels=`ls`;
    for level in $levels; do
        (level_handle "$level") || die "Failed: $level";
   #die testing...;
    done;
}

main;
Last edited by Lachnummer on 08.01.2008, 01:23, edited 1 time in total.
Seraphiel
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 4
Member since: 07.01.2008, 08:45
Likes: 0

Postby Seraphiel » 08.01.2008, 02:16

Edit:
I'll provide a better upgraded .cfg file for you, Pydon, than the one I had in mind. Your mod and .cfg certainly taught me alot of things. Screenshots of visual quality and differences, along with benchmarks are on the way. Taowulf, vanilla all high, your provided .cfg, and my own .cfg used in them...

Thank you, again, from a total newbie at Crysis modding and tweaking.
Last edited by Seraphiel on 08.01.2008, 07:55, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Traitorsgate
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 13
Member since: 31.12.2007, 06:23
Location: Australia
Likes: 0

Postby Traitorsgate » 08.01.2008, 08:44

Seraphiel, interesting caps you posted. As Pydon noted perhaps the HDR is a little too full on, but as its a work in progress I'll be interested to see your finalised .cfg. I'm curious though (and more than a little envious), what sort of rig are you running that allows you to get 30+ FPS at 2560x1600?






EDIT: I trust my avatar meets with GODzilla's approval. ;)
Last edited by Traitorsgate on 08.01.2008, 08:51, edited 2 times in total.
Seraphiel
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 4
Member since: 07.01.2008, 08:45
Likes: 0

Postby Seraphiel » 08.01.2008, 10:38

Originally posted by Traitorsgate
Seraphiel, interesting caps you posted. As Pydon noted perhaps the HDR is a little too full on, but as its a work in progress I'll be interested to see your finalised .cfg. I'm curious though (and more than a little envious), what sort of rig are you running that allows you to get 30+ FPS at 2560x1600?


My rig is kinda embarrassing:

eVGA 680i SLI (Rev A2? - first one that has poor QC FSB OC)
Intel QX6700 @ 3200 Mhz
4 * G-Skill 1024 MB 800Mhz DDR2 CL5.5.5 T2 @ stock
2 * XFX 8800 Ultra XXX 685M @ stock (Rev 2 BIOS 685, 1692, 2260 Mhz)
CL X-Fi Fatal1ty Pro 64 MB
WD Raptor 36 GB, WD RaptorX 150 GB
Enermax Galaxy 1000W (the first revision, not DXX)
Dell 3007WFP-HC (Rev A02 Czech)
MS Windows XP Pro SP2, FW 168.28 beta


The HDR is excessive, I agree, but I personally like it at this level with Pydon's Natural v 1.1. The first series of pictures was made to excess the HDR/Bloom effect: A different angle and same position, and those effects would have been lessened.

My current autoexec.cfg is attached, and I have (very poorly and quickly) made comparison screenshots to the first 4 I posted:

http://img517.imageshack.us/my.php?image=crysis001qt2.jpg
http://img517.imageshack.us/my.php?image=crysis002pu2.jpg
http://img255.imageshack.us/my.php?image=crysis003pe6.jpg
http://img255.imageshack.us/my.php?image=crysis004cq3.jpg

A quite noticable positive difference in performance, compared to my old autoexec, and the new one (but there is also an almost unnoticable quality difference). Again, Pydon's own config.cfg taught me alot.

All the screenshots are made using standard All-High ingame settings, and then just using user/custom autoexec.cfg.

I'll be back later today and post exact screenshot comparisons and benchmarks, as promised.

Regards to all, and thanks for a great forum and resourse.
Attachments
autoexec.zip
(433 Bytes) Downloaded 180 times
Last edited by Seraphiel on 08.01.2008, 11:04, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
pydon
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 138
Member since: 22.12.2007, 18:13
Location: Switzerland
Likes: 0

Postby pydon » 08.01.2008, 19:09

Thanks for your sharing. ;)


By the way, patch 1.1 for Crysis is out. Natural Mod 1.1 is still compatible, you don't need to reinstall the mod after the update of Crysis, as the update does not modify the "level.pak" files.


I am trying to create a Windows installer for the Natural Mod. It works pretty well, but the size is still 350 Mo... if someone wants to help for creating an installer that only updates the level.pack with a similar method to Lachnummer's one, just send me a PM.
Last edited by pydon on 08.01.2008, 19:11, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
GODzilla
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 01.01.2008, 22:53
Location: Germany
Likes: 0

Postby GODzilla » 09.01.2008, 00:55

As everyone is sharing his config file these days I wont stay behind...but of course I'm doing this also for myself, because I don't consider myself an expert of the config file(s), so maybe you can give me some hints.

The file bases on pydons config file, I've also continued his quite helpfull descriptions for all my own changes.

IMPORTANT: This is a high-end config, my pc can handle quite a bit (thanks to a newly aquired geforce 8800 gt).

Ingame settings are ALL HIGH, with an exception for SOUND and SHADOWS, both set to MEDIUM. The config already contains the most important "VERY HIGH" settings, so there is no need to use modified CVarGroups-files!

Here you go:

Code: Select all
;==================================
;Natural Mod for Crysis, by Pydon
;Version 1.0
;22 December 2007
;Optimization for smooth framerate and very high effects
;========================================================

;=======================
;SET TO 1 TO REACTIVATE
;=======================
r_MotionBlur=1                      ;Deactivates motion blur
r_DepthOfField=1                   ;Deactivates depth of field
cl_hitblur=1                     ;Deactivates hit blur

;=======================
;MISCELLANEOUS
;=======================
con_restricted=0                   ;Activates advanced console
d3d9_triplebuffering = 1             ;Activates triple buffering for better performance with activated v-sync (deactivate if r_vsync = 0)
r_vsync = 1                      ;Activates v-sync, which syncs the maximum fps to the respond time of the monitor

;=======================
;THREADING
;=======================
e_particles_thread=1                ;activates threaded calculation of particles (recommended for dual core cpu)

;=======================
;SYS_SPECS (1=low, 2=medium, 3=high, 4= very high)
;=======================
sys_spec_Quality=4                   ;Needs to be enables for "very high" textures (I've seen no fps difference compared to other "very high" texture enable methods)

;=======================
;VERY HIGH EFFECTS
;=======================
q_Renderer=2                      ;Necessary to activate sunrays
r_sunshafts=1                      ;Activates godrays
r_UseSoftParticles=1                ;activates soft particles (no more cut off edges when seing smoke / dust)
r_WaterRefractions=1                ;activates water refraction shader (causing advanced distortion & ripple-effekt)
r_WaterReflections=1                ;activates water reflections
e_water_ocean_fft=1                ;Activates higher water quality
e_water_ocean_soft_particles= 1       ;activates soft particles for water
e_particles_object_collisions=1       ;activates soft particles react to other objects passing through

;=======================
;POSTPROCESSING
;=======================
q_ShaderPostProcess=2                ;Necessary to activate EdgeAA
r_UseEdgeAA=2                     ;Default was 1, reduces aliasing and improves vegetation density render

;=======================
;TEXTURE
;=======================
r_TexturesStreaming=0               ;Default was 1, greatly improves distant textures quality

;=======================
;LIGHTING
;=======================
r_HDRRendering=1                  ;Default was 2, enables HDR lightning without high performance drop
r_HDRBrightOffset=10               ;Default was 6, increases HDR luminosity
r_HDRBrightThreshold=20               ;Default was 3, greatly decreases HDR luminosity in deep jungle and buildings
r_hdrlevel=0.65                   ;sets the hdr level = brightness of hdr effect
r_eyeadaptionfactor=0.4             ;sets the eye adaption factor = time the eyes need to accomodate when stepping into bright light
r_FillLights=7                     ;Default was 14, slightly improves performance
e_particles_lights=0               ;Default was 1, slghtly improves performance in jungle

;=======================
;SHADOW
;=======================
r_ShadowJittering=1                ;sets how much shadows are literally jittering (too high jittering causes shadows to look like static or smoke on surfaces)
r_ShadowBlur=0                     ;Default was 3, slightly improves performance in deep jungle
r_SSAO=0                        ;Default was 1, improves performance in shadowed areas
e_shadows_max_texture_size=768         ;Default was 1024, slightly improves performance
e_terrain_normal_map=1               ;Default was 1, slightly improves performance

;=======================
;DETAIL
;=======================
e_view_dist_ratio_vegetation=50         ;shows vegetation a little longer avoiding the popup-effect


So that's it. If someone has some good advice, please tell me. Every frame counts. :D
Last edited by GODzilla on 09.01.2008, 02:07, edited 1 time in total.
GODzillaâ„¢
User avatar
Bani
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 23
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:55
Likes: 0

How to

Postby Bani » 09.01.2008, 02:08

Hy,

First of all, i like you mod its looking awsome. But i am a noob if its come to tweak and stuff ?(
I installed your mod like you said, but when i go ingame i cant change any settings to very high. Some are marked with custom and i want to change them to Very High, after i changed it i resume the game but the game rejusted them to custom and this is the same with AA.
What must i do?

Greetings :))
User avatar
GODzilla
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 153
Member since: 01.01.2008, 22:53
Location: Germany
Likes: 0

Postby GODzilla » 09.01.2008, 02:17

The System.cfg changes some things, that's why it always shows "custom". This is ok as long as you want the changes made by the System.cfg. Read the tooltips to decide weather you like it, or not.

If you don't like it at all, remove the System.cfg. ;)
GODzillaâ„¢


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community