Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Custom City Buildings

Use this section to show off your CE2 assets


 

Ga-Knomboe Boy
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 147
Member since: 05.11.2007, 17:24
Location: Perth, Western Australia.
Likes: 0

Custom City Buildings

Postby Ga-Knomboe Boy » 22.12.2010, 17:46

I'm making a whole lot of custom city buildings for my mod momentum, I've already shown these pictures in other threads. Mainly the archmod thread as I want everyone to start using the guys script and start making buildings like I have. I haven't really posted a real news item regarding the models apart from the fact I've created them. So here is a rundown. I'm not a lamer in a pretend studio who is trying to be better than other mods. I will be releasing these to everyone free to use. Basically, I have about 50+ buildings I've modelled. So far 20 are done. The textures of these buildings are mainly photoshopped royalty free textures that I have heavily edited to the point that they don't look much like the original picture. Most of the buildings face one direction and have a 10m frontage but some of them are corner blocks. Others are free standing and so on. These buildings will appear in the next version of my momentum mod. However, at the same time I will provide a link to only the custom building prefabs themselves. Later on, I will release a pack when each of the buildings are separated from eachother, rather than grouped in buildings of 4-8. Either way I will be releasing these hell soon. As in, within the month. I'm getting about 5-8 buildings complete per day, so its pretty quick work.

These are screens of buildings without proper specular, bump or normal maps, or even final texture for that matter.

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Leadfoot[YT]
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 271
Member since: 25.11.2008, 02:02
Likes: 0

Postby Leadfoot[YT] » 22.12.2010, 17:50

Very nice work! :) These would improve some of my city school projects immensely (plus make for great alley-running maps)!

-Leadfoot
Image
User avatar
Geo Piskas
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2735
Member since: 15.02.2008, 14:13
Location: Greece
Likes: 5

Postby Geo Piskas » 22.12.2010, 17:59

Great! You should make a library with city architecture and release it to crymod community! :)
Ga-Knomboe Boy
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 147
Member since: 05.11.2007, 17:24
Location: Perth, Western Australia.
Likes: 0

Postby Ga-Knomboe Boy » 22.12.2010, 18:24

Crymod is pretty much the only place I will be releasing these buildings directly. I have many more buildings I've modelled, textured and already have set up in crysis but they are actual on going architecture projects. Sometime after I've released these city buildings I might release a pack of Modern Australian Residential buildings. However, this depends on a whole bunch of legal issues with my architecture firm. I'm somewhat sure for the buildings that I personally designed and have creative control over that I can decide what to do with the designs as long as they aren't used for commercial purposes and or by anyone / anything that pretends to be a real organisation.
Ga-Knomboe Boy
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 147
Member since: 05.11.2007, 17:24
Location: Perth, Western Australia.
Likes: 0

Postby Ga-Knomboe Boy » 24.12.2010, 14:19

New buildings

Image
Image
Image
Image
Image
User avatar
Mr.Trouble
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 325
Member since: 01.02.2009, 00:48
Location: Poland, Cracow
Likes: 0

Postby Mr.Trouble » 24.12.2010, 14:44

oh... wow, that is awesome! :D
Image
Ga-Knomboe Boy
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 147
Member since: 05.11.2007, 17:24
Location: Perth, Western Australia.
Likes: 0

Postby Ga-Knomboe Boy » 16.01.2011, 06:41

Heya, I've got 50+ custom buildings complete. If I have enough time I'll upload them today. Here is a picture of some of the latest. One thing to note is because there are literally so many different custom buildings in this pack, if your playing with Direct x 9, then you will get pretty massive polygon counts. I'm using xp at the moment because my main computer is getting fixed, but the city would run almost twice the frame rate with Direct x 10.

The city in this picture is about 500 by 500 m. Now that might not sound like much, but there are about 100 buildings, 80 or so which are different (and about 50+ of them designed by me). You can think of it like this, the map has about 4 times the number of different buildings compared to pinecity, but takes up less space as the buildings are scaled realistically so there is a gradual increase in size and scope. Really, you could make a 2 x 2 km map of these buildings without it getting too repetitive, its just you would need a kicking ass computer.

Image
Image
Batman1337
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 216
Member since: 13.09.2010, 23:56
Likes: 0

Postby Batman1337 » 16.01.2011, 06:46

Buildings looks nice but sooo high poly, my one big city with over 150-200 buildings have only 1,1 mln tris you sure you optimized them as much as it's possible?
Ga-Knomboe Boy
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 147
Member since: 05.11.2007, 17:24
Location: Perth, Western Australia.
Likes: 0

Postby Ga-Knomboe Boy » 16.01.2011, 08:32

Yeah, because the windows are 3d they seem to be killing the polygon count. I'll see how low I can reduce the detail for them.
Batman1337
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 216
Member since: 13.09.2010, 23:56
Likes: 0

Postby Batman1337 » 16.01.2011, 10:42

Well i'm having 3D windows too, i think you're doing the same mistake i was making, hmm it'll be kinda hard for me to explain you how to optimize it and it'll make you make your buildings faster :D

@edit
btw - what 3d program are you using? also have you made occlusion for those buildings?
Last edited by Batman1337 on 16.01.2011, 13:26, edited 1 time in total.
Ga-Knomboe Boy
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 147
Member since: 05.11.2007, 17:24
Location: Perth, Western Australia.
Likes: 0

Postby Ga-Knomboe Boy » 16.01.2011, 14:04

I'm using Autocad 2011, Archicad 14, AC2E script and 3ds Max 9. I was figuring to reduce the polycount, I might take elevations from Crysis of the windows for each building, and turn those screenshots into textures of the windows. That way I can reduce the poly count from 7000 for each building down to about 500.
User avatar
D_wolf
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1895
Member since: 06.01.2009, 20:32
Location: Portugal
Likes: 1

Postby D_wolf » 16.01.2011, 14:37

hmmm looking great :D
Batman1337
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 216
Member since: 13.09.2010, 23:56
Likes: 0

Postby Batman1337 » 16.01.2011, 14:55

Well i'm not so good in english so i'll better show you how to optimize on screenshots :P

Hope it'll help you a little bit
Last edited by Batman1337 on 16.01.2011, 15:16, edited 4 times in total.
Ga-Knomboe Boy
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 147
Member since: 05.11.2007, 17:24
Location: Perth, Western Australia.
Likes: 0

Postby Ga-Knomboe Boy » 16.01.2011, 16:39

Couldn't really understand those images. To me they look like completely different models with the same number of tris.

I'm optimising the models by replacing the windows with images of windows, of the 3d windows that were in their place before. The result is pretty convincing and has so far allowed me to cut the polygon count to about an eighth for an individual model (800 tris down from 7000). However, I've only done a couple buildings so far so it will take a while.
Last edited by Ga-Knomboe Boy on 16.01.2011, 16:40, edited 1 time in total.
Batman1337
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 216
Member since: 13.09.2010, 23:56
Likes: 0

Postby Batman1337 » 16.01.2011, 16:55

They are pretty much same models only difference is that the second one is bigger and have thiner windows. They're just built in other ways one is built in high poly way and second in low poly way :)
Last edited by Batman1337 on 16.01.2011, 16:56, edited 1 time in total.


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community