Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Ok someone please help me out this is really bugging me :(

Gameplay Setup, SP/MP Logic, Audio Setup, AI Logic, Entity Usage, etc.


 

User avatar frozenwifi
Intern Dev
Intern Dev
 
Posts: 137
Member since: 09.08.2011, 23:14
Location: London • Bruxelles • Lisbon
Likes: 0

Ok someone please help me out this is really bugging me :(

Postby frozenwifi » 28.12.2011, 22:46

Editor 2011-12-28 12-27-45-19.png Hi guys this is the noobiest question ever but i dont know how to add textures to this Palm Tree and make it look normal.
Image

Level Designer currently working on the ambitious Dubai Sandbox project.
User avatar iSqueezee
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1968
Images: 3
Member since: 05.11.2011, 16:26
Location: Czech Republic
Likes: 50

Re: Ok someone please help me out this is really bugging me

Postby iSqueezee » 31.12.2011, 13:11

frozenwifi wrote:Editor 2011-12-28 12-27-45-19.pngHi guys this is the noobiest question ever but i dont know how to add textures to this Palm Tree and make it look normal.

So, put a palm anywhere, go to roll-up bar, and you gonna see a first tab where you can see a parameters for the palm. Where it says "No custom material" click on it, and go through these materials or objects. You can add whatever you want. But, the palm tree is not in crysis 2 used so they didn´t added a texture for it. I usually don´t know much about the materials or textures. So im sorry if this ain´t not gonna work. Try it, and if it doesn´t work, wait for somebody else response :)
User avatar the_grim
Superstar Dolphin
Superstar Dolphin
 
Posts: 9888
Images: 2
Member since: 16.08.2004, 10:46
Location: Finland
Likes: 197

Re: Ok someone please help me out this is really bugging me

Postby the_grim » 31.12.2011, 13:15

I thought I already answered you... ?( viewtopic.php?f=315&t=81113

In the screenshot you're using a Brush aren't you? Open the material editor, browse for a suitable material (chances are there isn't a proper material for the palm tree so you'll have to make your own) and assign it to selection (with the palm tree selected).
User avatar iSqueezee
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1968
Images: 3
Member since: 05.11.2011, 16:26
Location: Czech Republic
Likes: 50

Re: Ok someone please help me out this is really bugging me

Postby iSqueezee » 31.12.2011, 13:19

the_grim wrote:I thought I already answered you... ?( viewtopic.php?f=315&t=81113

In the screenshot you're using a Brush aren't you? Open the material editor, browse for a suitable material (chances are there isn't a proper material for the palm tree so you'll have to make your own) and assign it to selection (with the palm tree selected).

Exactly. Also, is it hard to make my own material that will be assignated for the vegetation? I mean, make a whole new texture. Not just customize the completed one by crytek.
User avatar the_grim
Superstar Dolphin
Superstar Dolphin
 
Posts: 9888
Images: 2
Member since: 16.08.2004, 10:46
Location: Finland
Likes: 197

Re: Ok someone please help me out this is really bugging me

Postby the_grim » 31.12.2011, 13:55

You need to follow the original UV layout anyway, so it's best to paint your own texture on top of the original Crytek one in any case. It's not that hard once you learn to do it, if you use photos for base textures you can get some pretty high-quality results. Takes time though. ;)
User avatar Richmar1
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 656
Member since: 31.08.2011, 11:17
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire, United States of America
Likes: 383

Re: Ok someone please help me out this is really bugging me

Postby Richmar1 » 31.12.2011, 16:17

[youtube]NRKXe75gKkY[youtube][youtube]3wJG8BQkDuo[youtube][youtube]PmM2d4JBSQk[youtube][/youtube]jdJQ6sGM6u4[/youtube][/youtube]NNSYk2q1oA0[/youtube][/youtube]JdDHHlI8k54[/youtube]
Last edited by Richmar1 on 31.12.2011, 16:28, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar chicken
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1473
Images: 2
Member since: 17.06.2011, 10:49
Location: Germany
Likes: 7

Re: Ok someone please help me out this is really bugging me

Postby chicken » 31.12.2011, 16:28

Richmar1 wrote:


right but he has not the textures to change something :)
they are in Crysis1 btw :xmas:
Last edited by chicken on 31.12.2011, 16:31, edited 1 time in total.
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASRock P67 Pro3
8 GB DDR3-1333
GTX560 2GB
Win7 x64
User avatar Richmar1
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 656
Member since: 31.08.2011, 11:17
Location: Manchester, New Hampshire, United States of America
Likes: 383

Re: Ok someone please help me out this is really bugging me

Postby Richmar1 » 31.12.2011, 16:30

oh ok my bad.


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community