Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

If you have problems with the Sandbox editor or other provided tools, let us know here.


 

archnemesis
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 61
Member since: 14.09.2011, 17:10
Likes: 0

Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby archnemesis » 24.02.2012, 05:22

Cry-Adam wrote:Known Issues:


    Shooting some textures, the screen will fade to black
  • We are aware of this issue and are working to resolve it ASAP.


    Clients get kicked in multiplayer
  • We are aware of this issue and are working to resolve it ASAP.




Just curious are these things that we will have to wait for the next update 3.4.0 or are they simple fixes that can be implemented in another way? just curious we were hoping to really start grinding on some multiplayer testing

p.s posted new topic because i didn't know if it belonged in the announcement thread.. dont even know if we can reply to them
-ArchNemesis

Team Lead - Nemesis Studios

http://nemesisstudios.org

Image
User avatar
Sieabah
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 644
Member since: 26.08.2011, 08:39
Location: Internet
Likes: 4

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby Sieabah » 24.02.2012, 06:59

High possibility. Unless they decide to do a quick patch.
A signature used to exist here.
commando2012
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 396
Member since: 07.01.2012, 13:00
Likes: 1

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby commando2012 » 24.02.2012, 12:04

I would think they would do a quick patch, as im guessing that 3.4 is quite some time off.
Some 3D Models I have done.
http://dragon3d.webs.com
SteveUK
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 225
Member since: 25.06.2011, 17:26
Likes: 11

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby SteveUK » 24.02.2012, 12:05

I think they should get out a hotfix quite quickly. They desperately need to fix this and the fact you can't compile in Release mode without hacking the VS2010 project files, which I haven't managed to do yet.
archnemesis
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 61
Member since: 14.09.2011, 17:10
Likes: 0

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby archnemesis » 24.02.2012, 12:34

can only hope that they release a small hotfix for this..


its completely put a halt to testing multiplayer.. i was able to get around the disconnect loop with using a small non-textured map but the players cant see each other (only for the first 2 sec after spawn)
-ArchNemesis

Team Lead - Nemesis Studios

http://nemesisstudios.org

Image
User avatar
Cry-Adam
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 11269
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 845

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby Cry-Adam » 24.02.2012, 12:42

Hey guys, if we can find a solution to this issue that you guys can implement we will let you know. Any progress on the issue we'll keep you up to date with :)

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.
archnemesis
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 61
Member since: 14.09.2011, 17:10
Likes: 0

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby archnemesis » 24.02.2012, 12:48

Cry-Adam wrote:Hey guys, if we can find a solution to this issue that you guys can implement we will let you know. Any progress on the issue we'll keep you up to date with :)



Thanks for the update adam, i appreciate it sincerely
-ArchNemesis

Team Lead - Nemesis Studios

http://nemesisstudios.org

Image
User avatar
i59
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2037
Member since: 19.03.2009, 12:21
Location: Sweden
Likes: 36

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby i59 » 25.02.2012, 04:21

Solution for the MP issue: (New network compression policy by Crytek was at fault, obviously work in progress)

Replace (Scripts/Network/CompressionPolicy.xml)
Code: Select all
   <Policy name="wrld" impl="QuantizedVec3">
      <XParams min="0" max="511.0" nbits="16"/>
      <YParams min="0" max="511.0" nbits="16"/>
      <ZParams min="0" max="511.0" nbits="15"/>


With
Code: Select all
   <Policy name="wrld" impl="TableDirVec3" samplingWeight="1.0">
      <Predictor name="Directional" dim="3" bits="24" steps="3" maxValue="4095.0"/>
      <Table file="scripts/network/wrld.xml"/>
      <Params min="0" max="4096"/>
SteveUK
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 225
Member since: 25.06.2011, 17:26
Likes: 11

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby SteveUK » 25.02.2012, 06:04

i59 wrote:Solution for the MP issue: (New network compression policy by Crytek was at fault, obviously work in progress)

Replace (Scripts/Network/CompressionPolicy.xml)
Code: Select all
...


With
Code: Select all
...


Thanks. But for a heads-up, this solves the problem with player sync, but when a connecting player gets a kill or is killed, they will crash or get kicked respectively. The stack trace from the crash points to a location in CryNetwork.dll

In debug, it will print the following to console (which in fact, you posted on IRC):
[Warning] [net 02:39:13.162] QuantizedVec3Policy: not implemented for generic types
[Warning] [net 02:39:13.162] Failed to decompress
archnemesis
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 61
Member since: 14.09.2011, 17:10
Likes: 0

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby archnemesis » 25.02.2012, 07:53

SteveUK wrote:
i59 wrote:Solution for the MP issue: (New network compression policy by Crytek was at fault, obviously work in progress)

Replace (Scripts/Network/CompressionPolicy.xml)
Code: Select all
...


With
Code: Select all
...


Thanks. But for a heads-up, this solves the problem with player sync, but when a connecting player gets a kill or is killed, they will crash or get kicked respectively. The stack trace from the crash points to a location in CryNetwork.dll

In debug, it will print the following to console (which in fact, you posted on IRC):
[Warning] [net 02:39:13.162] QuantizedVec3Policy: not implemented for generic types
[Warning] [net 02:39:13.162] Failed to decompress



i can confirm this as well.. sync is fixed with this workaround but on any kill the respective player is kicked.. defiantly a good start.. hopefully Crytek will take these findings and implement a official patch
-ArchNemesis

Team Lead - Nemesis Studios

http://nemesisstudios.org

Image
User avatar
i59
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 2037
Member since: 19.03.2009, 12:21
Location: Sweden
Likes: 36

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby i59 » 25.02.2012, 08:14

archnemesis wrote:
SteveUK wrote:
i59 wrote:Solution for the MP issue: (New network compression policy by Crytek was at fault, obviously work in progress)

Replace (Scripts/Network/CompressionPolicy.xml)
Code: Select all
...


With
Code: Select all
...


Thanks. But for a heads-up, this solves the problem with player sync, but when a connecting player gets a kill or is killed, they will crash or get kicked respectively. The stack trace from the crash points to a location in CryNetwork.dll

In debug, it will print the following to console (which in fact, you posted on IRC):
[Warning] [net 02:39:13.162] QuantizedVec3Policy: not implemented for generic types
[Warning] [net 02:39:13.162] Failed to decompress



i can confirm this as well.. sync is fixed with this workaround but on any kill the respective player is kicked.. defiantly a good start.. hopefully Crytek will take these findings and implement a official patch


Yeah, noticed the issue shortly after posting here. Can't say that I'm aware of a quick fix for it, but will check again later today.
archnemesis
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 61
Member since: 14.09.2011, 17:10
Likes: 0

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby archnemesis » 26.02.2012, 13:05

We're still working on this one guys, i got my coders tearing it apart right now.. if anyone finds a solution before us please feel free to post it here
-ArchNemesis

Team Lead - Nemesis Studios

http://nemesisstudios.org

Image
SteveUK
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 225
Member since: 25.06.2011, 17:26
Likes: 11

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby SteveUK » 27.02.2012, 04:49

JR told me on Twitter that the multiplayer bug has already been fixed. So now it's up to Crytek to release an update (I really hope they do a hotfix for these development halting bugs)
User avatar
Sieabah
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 644
Member since: 26.08.2011, 08:39
Location: Internet
Likes: 4

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby Sieabah » 27.02.2012, 04:54

SteveUK wrote:JR told me on Twitter that the multiplayer bug has already been fixed. So now it's up to Crytek to release an update (I really hope they do a hotfix for these development halting bugs)


That or a monthly update schedule.
A signature used to exist here.
archnemesis
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 61
Member since: 14.09.2011, 17:10
Likes: 0

Re: Multiplayer bug in 3.3.9

Postby archnemesis » 27.02.2012, 06:00

well, we're still waiting so far on a update from crytek addressing the issue, my devs haven't found anything solid on it yet, they are focused on our dedicated server
-ArchNemesis

Team Lead - Nemesis Studios

http://nemesisstudios.org

Image


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community