Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

Vegetation



 

User avatar
Cry-Adam
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 11296
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 859

Vegetation

Postby Cry-Adam » 19.04.2012, 14:42

Please provide any feedback/issues regarding Vegetation below. Steps to reproduce the issue are necessary in order to find and fix any issues.

Please keep chatter to a minimum in these threads so that it's easier for us to find important information. This first post will be kept up to date with any known issues. Any work-arounds will be posted here also.

Known Issues
  • Fit To Terrain option currently not available (CE-1525).
  • Procedural vegetation results differ in Pure-Game vs Editor (CE-3794).

Feature Request
  • Option to "use on terrain layer" for two or more vegetation objects at once.
tevans
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 777
Member since: 06.09.2012, 20:32
Location: San Juan Island, Washington
Likes: 103

Re: Vegetation

Postby tevans » 09.08.2014, 03:48

I'm not sure of the best way to provide details on this, but the GameSDK.exe has issues with AutoMerged vegetation. I've spent many hours tracking down seemingly random crashes and by not having any AutoMerged vegetation the client appears to be running again without the random crashes when moving/turning in game. We have a lot of vegetation categories (hit the old 255 limit), and almost 2.5 million instances of vegetation on the map so far. We don't have any issues in Editor, but GameSDK will crash. Let me know what I can do to help so the issue can be fixed.

Also, please, please, please (enough pleases?) fix the proc vegetation in multiplayer so we don't have to place millions of pieces of grass.
User avatar
hendrik
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1328
Member since: 29.05.2010, 11:46
Location: Germany
Likes: 163

Re: Vegetation

Postby hendrik » 09.08.2014, 05:14

tevans wrote:I'm not sure of the best way to provide details on this, but the GameSDK.exe has issues with AutoMerged vegetation. I've spent many hours tracking down seemingly random crashes and by not having any AutoMerged vegetation the client appears to be running again without the random crashes when moving/turning in game. We have a lot of vegetation categories (hit the old 255 limit), and almost 2.5 million instances of vegetation on the map so far. We don't have any issues in Editor, but GameSDK will crash. Let me know what I can do to help so the issue can be fixed.

Also, please, please, please (enough pleases?) fix the proc vegetation in multiplayer so we don't have to place millions of pieces of grass.


Code: Select all
<14:27:09> [Warning] [SHADERS] GCM Global Cache Miss: <2>Vegetation@Common_ZPassVS(%BUMP_MAP|%LEAVES|%PN_TESSELLATION|%TEMP_VEGETATION|%VERTCOLORS)(%_RT_ALPHATEST)(0)(0)(100)(VS)
<14:27:09> [Warning] Warning: Shader Vegetation@Common_ZPassVS(2410800000)(X1)(100)(0)(0)(100)(vs_5_0) is not existing in the cache
<CRITICAL EXCEPTION>


Thats the last log before the crash.
User avatar
TrustyJam
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 59
Member since: 20.08.2011, 23:29
Likes: 12

Re: Vegetation

Postby TrustyJam » 11.08.2014, 10:25

tevans wrote:I'm not sure of the best way to provide details on this, but the GameSDK.exe has issues with AutoMerged vegetation. I've spent many hours tracking down seemingly random crashes and by not having any AutoMerged vegetation the client appears to be running again without the random crashes when moving/turning in game. We have a lot of vegetation categories (hit the old 255 limit), and almost 2.5 million instances of vegetation on the map so far. We don't have any issues in Editor, but GameSDK will crash. Let me know what I can do to help so the issue can be fixed.

Also, please, please, please (enough pleases?) fix the proc vegetation in multiplayer so we don't have to place millions of pieces of grass.


We're in the same boat regarding the state of procedural vegetation - the majority of the vegetation in our game utilizes it.

UPDATE:

In 3.6.6, procedural vegetation is still broken. Any ETA on when we can expect to see it fixed?

- Trusty
Image
User avatar
hendrik
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1328
Member since: 29.05.2010, 11:46
Location: Germany
Likes: 163

Re: Vegetation

Postby hendrik » 04.10.2014, 03:56

hendrik wrote:
tevans wrote:I'm not sure of the best way to provide details on this, but the GameSDK.exe has issues with AutoMerged vegetation. I've spent many hours tracking down seemingly random crashes and by not having any AutoMerged vegetation the client appears to be running again without the random crashes when moving/turning in game. We have a lot of vegetation categories (hit the old 255 limit), and almost 2.5 million instances of vegetation on the map so far. We don't have any issues in Editor, but GameSDK will crash. Let me know what I can do to help so the issue can be fixed.

Also, please, please, please (enough pleases?) fix the proc vegetation in multiplayer so we don't have to place millions of pieces of grass.


Code: Select all
<14:27:09> [Warning] [SHADERS] GCM Global Cache Miss: <2>Vegetation@Common_ZPassVS(%BUMP_MAP|%LEAVES|%PN_TESSELLATION|%TEMP_VEGETATION|%VERTCOLORS)(%_RT_ALPHATEST)(0)(0)(100)(VS)
<14:27:09> [Warning] Warning: Shader Vegetation@Common_ZPassVS(2410800000)(X1)(100)(0)(0)(100)(vs_5_0) is not existing in the cache
<CRITICAL EXCEPTION>


Thats the last log before the crash.


This crash is not fixed its still reproducible.
Cry-David
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 93
Member since: 09.11.2011, 13:20
Likes: 18

Re: Vegetation

Postby Cry-David » 06.10.2014, 11:22

Hi hendrik,

Do you have any repro steps for the crash or is it still a random issue?
tevans
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 777
Member since: 06.09.2012, 20:32
Location: San Juan Island, Washington
Likes: 103

Re: Vegetation

Postby tevans » 06.10.2014, 11:43

westy-3 wrote:Hi hendrik,

Do you have any repro steps for the crash or is it still a random issue?


We can reproduce it every time on our level. Just let me know what you need.
Evohc
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 246
Member since: 09.12.2011, 02:15
Location: Nova Scotia, Canada
Likes: 7

Re: Vegetation

Postby Evohc » 18.10.2014, 01:49

Has the following Feature Request been made yet?:

Use terrain layer as a mask for painting/exclude from painting on areas of the terrain.

Or if this is already possible, how would I do this?

Thanks CryAdam/Team
tevans
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 777
Member since: 06.09.2012, 20:32
Location: San Juan Island, Washington
Likes: 103

Re: Vegetation

Postby tevans » 19.10.2014, 02:30

We've mentioned it several times now, but we still continue to experience crashes related to automerged vegetation. In debugging a crash today we found that running on very high would cause a crash as well, but high wouldn't. After double-checking all of the variables, this one is causing a crash and it's the default for very high spec:

Code: Select all
e_MergedMeshesPool=16384


If we leave it at 8192 value, which high uses, the crash doesn't occur.
User avatar
Swanton007
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 342
Member since: 19.08.2011, 07:44
Likes: 126

Re: Vegetation

Postby Swanton007 » 22.10.2014, 03:13

Not sure if anyone else has this problem, but I cant increase the MaxViewDistRatio on new vegetation objects in 3.6.9, decreasing bellow the default value of 1 still works, but I am unable to increase it.
Facebook | IndieDB | Steam
Skype: Swanton0014
User avatar
Cry-Adam
Crytek Staff Member
Crytek Staff Member
 
Posts: 11296
Images: 182
Member since: 09.01.2008, 01:11
Location: Crytek HQ
Likes: 859

Re: Vegetation

Postby Cry-Adam » 22.10.2014, 12:49

What kind of veg setup? Automerge/Procedural/Standard?

Image
Image
No dev/modding PM's please, use the forums! :)
Achievement Unlocked: Wear the Winter avatar all year.
User avatar
LoWang35
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 152
Member since: 20.08.2011, 23:30
Location: Denmark
Likes: 26

Re: Vegetation

Postby LoWang35 » 22.10.2014, 20:49

Vegetation doesnt seem to be properly aligning to terrain when enabled.

Whats really wierd about it is that it seems to depend on the direction of the hill. For the purpose of showing the problem I created this mountain thing.

Image

I painted the grass red in order to more easily show the problem.

Image

When viewing the grass in this direction, the grass doesnt align all the way.

Image

If I move 90 degrees around the hill, things are perfect. If I move even further, things will start getting bad again.

I did a test in Cryengine 2 with "align to terrain" enabled and "fit to terrain" disabled.

Image

Image

As can be seen, the grass aligns perfectly no matter the direction you'r looking.

And here's a screenshot showing the problem we're having in an actual ingame situation on a moderately steep hill.

Image

Here's a video showing the issue at 9:40

http://youtu.be/f0yV1Nbx4uU?t=9m40s

I don't believe this angle/direction based variation in the amount of "align to terrain" is intentional. It's hurting the look of some parts of our maps quite a bit. I'm just puzzled that I havent seen anybody else reporting the issue. Would be cool if you could just sort of copy paste the "align to terrain" code from Cryengine 2 and paste into CRYENGINE :p
Image
User avatar
Lavizh
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 12080
Member since: 04.12.2007, 03:23
Location: Hamar, Norway
Likes: 751

Re: Vegetation

Postby Lavizh » 22.10.2014, 20:57

This one?

Code: Select all
Fit To Terrain option currently not available (CE-1525).
 
 
Image
User avatar
LoWang35
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 152
Member since: 20.08.2011, 23:30
Location: Denmark
Likes: 26

Re: Vegetation

Postby LoWang35 » 22.10.2014, 21:12

"Fit to terrain" is something else. It bends the vegetation object to follow the curve of the terrain while "align to terrain" just (almost) aligns the object to the terrain surface.
Image
User avatar
GShot
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 592
Member since: 05.04.2010, 15:02
Location: Australia
Likes: 217

Re: Vegetation

Postby GShot » 22.10.2014, 21:50

e_VegetationAlignToTerrainAmount maybe? I don't know what the default is can't check atm (it should be between 0...1)


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community