Forums Gallery Downloads LOGIN |REGISTER

[Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Topics about 3DS Max, Maya, Photoshop, and various other software packages.


 

User avatar
seith
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 778
Member since: 29.10.2007, 07:14
Likes: 8

[Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby seith » 11.05.2012, 22:43

Hi guys, this is just a quick glimpse at what will eventually be released as an integrated module for MayaCE3. As an artist comfortable with Maya I wanted to try and see if it was possible to build the scenery for a CryEngine level directly within my favorite application and get it all back in Sandbox with the click of a button... And well... it is. :)

Image


In those pictures what you see in Maya is actually the equivalent of a Sandbox 3 layer. This means you can now use your assets to build an actual Sandbox layer directly within your Maya scene (brushes, vegetation, etc...).

Then simply click "Export Layer to Sandbox" and after you've imported the layer in Sandbox you get exactly what you had in Maya!

Update:

And I just got it to work both ways! Meaning you can tweak your level in Sandbox, export the layer and update your Maya scene with just a click. :))
Last edited by seith on 15.05.2012, 22:42, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Hanstania
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 62
Member since: 11.07.2011, 06:46
Likes: 2

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby Hanstania » 12.05.2012, 00:34

As a Maya user this the greatest news i've ever read on this site. So excited for this! Good job Seith!

When is it ready you think? :)
User avatar
Ruan
Has seen it all
Has seen it all
 
Posts: 11741
Images: 0
Member since: 11.07.2008, 20:25
Location: Nottingham, UK
Likes: 93

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby Ruan » 12.05.2012, 00:37

Very cool stuff. How does this work with instances of the same mesh etc? Is that all transparent?
Out now! CryENGINE Game Programming with C++, C#, and Lua
Ex-Crytek, now with Deep Silver Dambuster Studios
User avatar
seith
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 778
Member since: 29.10.2007, 07:14
Likes: 8

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby seith » 12.05.2012, 10:40

@Hanstania: I'd say it's in alpha stage now. I mean it already works with brushes, but I'd like to make it as robust and simple to use as possible. There's that, and all the doc to write. So it'll depend on how much time I get to iron things out. If I don't hit a snag it could get released within a couple of weeks. Before that I'll need some beta-testers of course...

@Cry-Ruan: Yes, that's more or less the gist of it. The trickiest part was to get the math right for turning euler angles into quaternions in a perfectly reliable fashion (I'm not a real programmer after all). Which was made even more complex by the fact that Sandbox uses Z as the world up axis :rolleyes:. Here's the UI so far:

Image


So for example the rocks you see in the OP pictures all use the same model (scaled, rotated, etc...). First the rock asset itself gets exported (as a .cgf file). Then I can duplicate that mesh as many times as I want, and freely translate, rotate or scale it. Those meshes all live in a special "Sandbox layer" group which gets exported as a ".lyr" file. Which in turn gets imported in Sandbox either as a new layer or as a replacement/update for an existing one.
User avatar
Hanstania
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 62
Member since: 11.07.2011, 06:46
Likes: 2

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby Hanstania » 12.05.2012, 12:17

I'm happy to help out testing although i might not be the most valueable beta tester you ever had as im still learning all this modding stuff, but im fairly comfortable with exporting meshes so feel free to msg me when the time comes.
Last edited by Hanstania on 12.05.2012, 13:12, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
MrDojo
Junior Dev
Junior Dev
 
Posts: 178
Member since: 03.09.2011, 18:09
Likes: 0

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby MrDojo » 12.05.2012, 12:24

this is great! would love to have this usability for 3dsMax.
Art is not merely an imitation of the reality of nature, but in truth a metaphysical supplement to the reality of nature, placed alongside thereof for its conquest.
Friedrich Nietzsche
User avatar
The_Distiller
Not my first Rodeo
Not my first Rodeo
 
Posts: 407
Images: 3
Member since: 04.11.2009, 16:58
Location: Germany
Likes: 52

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby The_Distiller » 12.05.2012, 17:51

Amazing tech, keep up the good work!
User avatar
seith
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 778
Member since: 29.10.2007, 07:14
Likes: 8

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby seith » 15.05.2012, 22:47

Just updated the OP: You can now also import a layer from Sandbox directly into Maya. So it works both ways... :))
User avatar
Chris.R
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 44
Member since: 18.08.2011, 18:57
Location: Germany
Likes: 2

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby Chris.R » 16.05.2012, 17:31

Awesome work! And to be honest, even if you just can blockout your level in maya its a huge timesaver. Dont get me wrong the solid-tools in the CE3 are great but yeah its an engine not a 3D model package. Anyway keep it running i'll stick to it :) and if you need one more beta-tester contact me via PM or mail "kotic.r[at]gmail.com"
punisher454
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 360
Member since: 17.04.2008, 00:04
Likes: 13

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby punisher454 » 16.05.2012, 22:50

sure would like this for max :(
Just to be able to import/export prefabs would be an incredible timesaver if you build multi-part models like buildings, ships, indoor levels and such.
User avatar
The Vulture
News Posters
News Posters
 
Posts: 3942
Images: 0
Member since: 30.07.2008, 00:36
Location: Sthlm, Sweden
Likes: 46

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby The Vulture » 20.05.2012, 22:09

Wow, great stuff. Looks like I chose the right modeling app after all. :D
User avatar
NeoLegends
Producer
Producer
 
Posts: 1731
Member since: 21.10.2011, 23:50
Likes: 8

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby NeoLegends » 20.05.2012, 22:30

<-- Max User.
****.
User avatar
seith
Skilled Developer
Skilled Developer
 
Posts: 778
Member since: 29.10.2007, 07:14
Likes: 8

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby seith » 20.05.2012, 22:59

By the way, I'm now looking for a couple of beta testers. If anyone is interested, the requirements are as follow:

1) You are proficient in Maya.
2) You already know how to export models to the cryEngine 3 SDK.
3) You are willing to provide complete and precise feedback.

So if you're up for it, please mail me at seithatseithcg.com.
putahs
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 17
Member since: 11.02.2011, 12:44
Likes: 0

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby putahs » 21.05.2012, 10:15

what!?
oh man this is so awesome,i cant believe it!
seith,man you ROCK!

Damn i'm glad i choose Learning Maya instead of max.
User avatar
mamoniem
Just getting started
Just getting started
 
Posts: 46
Member since: 13.01.2012, 23:06
Likes: 0

Re: [Free SDK] Build your level directly in Maya!

Postby mamoniem » 29.05.2012, 07:56

glad to find such a tool for maya , because lots of cryengine users used to use 3dsMax..thanx for the tool :))
Muhammad A.Moniem
Lead Game Developer
mamoniem.wordpress.com


 
Connect and collaborate with CRYENGINE developers in the official Forums.
Visit the Gallery to share what you have created and be inspired by what others are creating with CRYENGINE.
Community