Forums Gallery LOGIN |REGISTER

Community Archive is read-only - Here you can view content recorded up until February 2017. To join the latest discussions visit our new forums

[Lua Tutorial] Smoothly rotating one entity to face another.

Help others by sharing your tutorials here.

User avatar jethroj
Just getting started
Just getting started

[Lua Tutorial] Smoothly rotating one entity to face another.

Postby jethroj » 21.01.2014, 18:35

After following the CryDev documentation and creating my first entity I was lost… there were still many things that I needed to know before getting started with my grand plans. How to rotate entities for instance, or how to make different Lua scripts communicate together. Eventually I learned this stuff through trial and error and now I want to share it with you.

I am still a pretty novice Lua scripter and do not have much experience with the CryEditor. This is my very first tutorial and therefore it would be great to hear your thoughts on it! I’ll take any feedback to heart and adapt it in my future tutorials.

What are we going to create?
We are going to create an entity that, when input with the name of another entity, rotates toward it smoothly in real-time. This can be useful for, for instance, moving a camera around the player or as part of a path following system.

If well received this tutorial will be the first part of a series that will eventually teach you how to create a Train that can follow tracks.

What will we learn during this tutorial?

- Basic Lua scripting for CryEngine
- How to rotate entities
- Parameters and arguments
- Communicating between different Lua scripts
- Some advanced Lua maths: atan2, modulo[%] and Lerp()

What do we need to know beforehand?
Basic scripting knowledge will help a lot. I will, however, be as detailed as possible in this tutorial.
We will start off with the following code:

MyEntity.lua
Code: Select all
MyEntity = {
    Properties = {